Christmas-Cookies.com

311 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of The Ultimate Sugar Cookie


16-25 of 123 reviews   << Previous - Next >>

  Paula in Washington State  Nov 27, 2010
Would make this again.
The recipe is easy and delicious.
I definately will pass it on and use it in the future.
For Merya, in Ontario Canada, the dough could taste like fish if your Crisco is old. Read the experation date on the bottom of the can. That will make all the difference in the world:)
Happy Holidays!
Paula
5 stars

  lindalou in new brunswick canada  Sep 28, 2010
Would make this again.
i have been searching for a great sugar cookie recipe that taste like the ones my Nan use to make for me. This is by far the closest one yet, it is awsome and i intend to pass it on to my children.
Thank you so much.
5 stars

  stefanie in texas  Mar 31, 2010
Would make this again.
Whoever said that these cookies are no good are full of it. These are the best sugar cookies. I made them like it said put them in the fridge for an hour then when I got home I rolled them out and they did perfect. I even put food coloring in them and made them for an easter party at school and everyone loved them. Thank You for the recipe. 5 stars

  A cookie baker  Mar 17, 2010
Would make this again.
it was Great. everyone loved it in my family and they beg me to make it again. thanks for the recipe!! 5 stars

  Kim in ontario canada  Feb 12, 2010
Would make this again.
I love this recipe! I have been making this recipe for 20 years and have always had rave reviews. I just finished making three batches for Valentine's Day gifts and they were very well received. I have been asked to share this recipe too many times to count. 5 stars

  Merya in Ontario, Canada  Dec 22, 2009
Would make this again.
I am astounded that there is actually someone else out there that shares my perception that these cookies tasted like FISH! It's true! they really did have a nasty, fishy flavor! As well, I found it very difficult to roll out the dough, in spite of prolonged chilling it remained too soft. 5 stars

  A cookie baker  Dec 22, 2009
Would make this again.
This is closest to the recipe my Grandmother and Mother used. This is the real deal for cut-out cookies. Easy to make, they don't dry out quickly or crumble like most "sugar" cookies. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Mississippi  Dec 19, 2009
Would make this again.
I use this recipe EVERY year for the last 4-5 years!! I have people asking me for the recipe all the time. I would think of using nothing else! I make snowflakes and stars and dip them in white chocolate and then drizzle dark chocolate on them to give them a gourmet look. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in CT  Dec 12, 2009
Would not make this again.
I just realized that I didn't read the recipe carefully enough and used regular crisco rather than the butter-flavored kind. Regular crisco made for really bland cookies. Make sure you use butter-flavored or maybe try it with butter. 3 stars

  A cookie baker in CT  Dec 12, 2009
Would not make this again.
I made these with white unbleached whole wheat flour, and they were bland. Maybe it was the type of flour I used? I added more sugar to the second batch, but they still didn't have much taste. They were also rather dry. Perhaps, as someone else suggested, they would have more taste with real butter. I cooked them at 350 rather than 375 and found that 7 minutes was sufficient. 3 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS