Christmas-Cookies.com

292 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of Rosettes

Photo of Rosette cookies courtesy of Lori Lake.	Opens photo in lightbox. Hit Escape or X to exit lightbox.

6-15 of 81 reviews   << Previous - Next >>

  A cookie baker  Dec 21, 2013
Would make this again.
my mother made them at christmas,she has passed and i miss her depply..now i make them and i cant keep up to my frends eating them they love them :) 5 stars

  Nancy in TX  Dec 26, 2011
Would make this again.
Love them for chrismas l learned it from my mom .Easy and simple.iI use real cinnamon ,i blend it in blender then add to granulated sugar. To cover them as soon as there done. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Richmond, VA  Dec 22, 2011
Would make this again.
I make these every year- when done- brush on some melted honey, sprinkle with colored sprinkles and powdered sugar- SUPERB 5 stars

  A cookie baker in California  Dec 15, 2011
Would make this again.
I love these rosettes. It's been a Christmas for years. I always make them for the children's Christmas party at school. They are really quite simple and delicious!! 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Florida  Dec 10, 2011
Would make this again.
These are always impressive and I've made them for years. I know my mother always used lard, but that was back in the day. Peanut oil works well, humidity levels in Florida are tough on these delicate treasures so when I'm thru making them I refigerate them after they have cooled. Instead of confectioners sugar I lay them in colored granulated sugar as soon as they come off the iron. Beautiful presentation on an antique glass or silver platter. 5 stars

  Roxi in Watertown, S.D.  Dec 9, 2011
Would make this again.
I grew up with Rosettes every Christmas, last year I made them for the first time and it was a major flop. I had to call my brother to find out what I did wrong. Much to my surprise my mother did not tell me the secret to the batter. For the Rosettes to easily come off, refrigerate the batter at least several hours before deep frying them.So chill before frying.....Good luck, I did that and it worked and OMG they were just like mom used to make. 5 stars

  Linzy in Pittsburgh  Dec 9, 2011
Would make this again.
they need to explain more about rosette irons. what r they?? 5 stars

  A cookie baker in OH  Nov 29, 2011
Would make this again.
Wonderful recipe would make again, very simple to make. 5 stars

  Kathryn Cecelia in Pacific Northwest  Nov 13, 2011
Would make this again.
Rosettes take a little bit of "understanding" to do easily and well. The oil needs to be peanut oil (heats to higher temp without smelling burned); only use fresh oil never "old" or the cookies can take on the ransid taste; make sure your irons are hot in the oil and then blot them on a paper towel to remove excess oil. I have poured my batter into a bowl that I can put the iron in, touch the bottom, pull up a smidge and then take out and the batter does not come to the top of the iron. If the iron is dipped too deeply the cookie won't come off. So that is very important. Then I leave the whole iron in the pot for about 15-20 seconds. Then I pull off the cookie and flip it over to brown on the reverse side. When removed from the oil place on paper towels to drain off excess oil. Sprinkle immediately with powdered sugar and again just before serving. 5 stars

   Mar 10, 2011
Would make this again.
my mom used to to put honey and powdered suger on these.hope to get her irons soon. i love them 5 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS