Christmas-Cookies.com

32 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of Eggnog Snickerdoodles

Eggnog Snickerdoodles	Opens photo in lightbox. Hit Escape or X to exit lightbox.

6-15 of 27 reviews   << Previous - Next >>

  Olivia Morgan in united states of america  Dec 9, 2008
Would make this again.
I just tried to make these and they are the BEST cookies i've ever tasted. 5 stars

  Carol in Mi.  Dec 2, 2008
Would not make this again.
When the batter was sticky, I thought I was smart to chill it before handling. I was very disappointed. Usually I cross check new recipes with my favorite cook book, but a last minute triple drop from my cookie exchange caused me to rush. The first batch was flat but I managed to get them off the cookie sheet in one piece, then I tried to turn them down as one person suggested, but they crumbled. I never throw anything away, so I will make a crumble with added oatmeal to ice cream or a cherry pie. What didn't get wrecked on the cookie sheet is in the oven in a 13 x 9. I just can't stop shaking my head. 2 stars

  a cookie baker in Tinley Park, IL  Aug 23, 2008
Would make this again.
These were great! I made them for a Christmas cookie exchange last year and they were a big hit. Also made them for our family's Christmas and they were gone pretty quick. Everyone loved them. They reminded me of a sugar cookie with a rich twist from the egg nog flavoring. Also, I used Sil-Pats. The bottoms of the cookies were exquisite. I don't know if this is thanks to the sil-pats or thanks to the recipe but I will definitely be making these again this Christmas. 5 stars

  A cookie baker  Dec 20, 2007
Would make this again.
These are great cookies, but a few tips: add about 1/2 cup more flour, this definitely helps keeps them from flattening out. also, if you turn down the temp to about 350 and bake for 10-11 minutes, they come out very nicely. otherwise, great recipe. 4 stars

  Joe in Harrisburg, PA  Dec 19, 2007
Would make this again.
My cookies were not at all thin! WONDERFUL! I used 1 1/2 tsp of cream of tartar, and about 1/4 cup extra of flour. My mixer died about 2 minutes after I started mixing the ingredients, so I mixed them by hand (I mean, with my hands!) The consistancy was perfect, and the dough balls "melted" down to about 1/3 of an inch (sort of like sugar cookies). A definite plus, and will be repeated for our cookie exchange! Made about 65 cookies. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Garner, NC  Dec 16, 2007
Would make this again.
Will definately make these again!! They do come out thin, but they are crisp and light and have a very good flavor! I allowed my butter and sugar to blend for at least 5 minutes which I have read helps to keep cookies from collapsing. I will note that I could not find rum and brandy extract. I substituted the extracts with 1 tsp. of rum and 1/2 tsp. vanilla. In addition, I mixed the nutmeg into the batter rather than the sugar. I also baked them on a stone. GREAT holiday cookie! 5 stars

  kae  Dec 15, 2007
Would not make this again.
what a disappointment! These cookies took a long time to prepare and took lots of expensive ingredients and they are horrible! As the previous comments state, they spread wayyyy to much and they end up so thin that I could not even scrape them off the cookie sheet! I ended up throwing the ENTIRE cooked batch in the garbage! Terrible recipe- don't make them unless you find a better recipe somewhere else (I did add the extra flour as one reader suggested) and they still came out paper-thin and very greasy! I will never bake these again... 1 star

  Thorun in Nashville, TN  Dec 13, 2007
Would make this again.
Because of the consistency of the dough when made according to the directions, I added 1/2 cup more flour. I baked them in smaller balls and they came out beautifully. I had to use more red sugar/nutmeg mix because of the smaller size cookies but the yield was 62. I would definitely make these again. 5 stars

   Dec 4, 2007
Would not make this again.
My cookies baked flat. I think there was either too much cream of tarter or too much butter. The dough was very sticky and when baked - totally flattened out (not at all what a snickerdoodle is supposed to look like)! 1 star

  A cookie baker in CA  Dec 20, 2004
Would make this again.
I've made these 3 times already this xmas season and will make some more for stocking stuffers! People cleared them out at every xmas party! I did lower the sugar to 1 c and double the extracts. thx! 5 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS