Christmas-Cookies.com

31 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of English Toffee


26-35 of 41 reviews   << Previous - Next >>

   Nov 30, 2003
Would not make this again.
I do not like this because it was dry. 2 stars

  araceli in cali  Oct 14, 2003
Would make this again.
great! 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Iowa  Sep 10, 2003
Would make this again.
I have been making this recipe for 15 years but I don't use 1 lb bittersweet chocolate, I use 1 cup chocolate chips & place them on the toffee after I have spread it out & sprinkle the chopped nuts over the chocolate after spreading it across the toffee. Then I break it.
I love this recipe!!!
5 stars

  Sam  Jun 8, 2003
Would make this again.
Good! 5 stars

  A cookie baker in North Carolina  Jan 27, 2003
Would make this again.
Very easy to follow instructions. Great taste. I varied by putting ground nuts in toffee just as I removed it from heat, instead of putting the on top. I will make this again. Thanks Chef Leon. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan  Jan 9, 2003
Would make this again.
I was making this for a bake trade and
I found this recipe to be difficult. Read carefully...candy thermometer? I sure don't have one of those kicking around the house. The ingredients are expensive and you will be buying alot of them. So my advise to you is go for it if you are a chef or own a candy thermometer, if not, find anouther recipe on this site. It's a great site!
2 stars

  Stephanie in Varna, IL  Dec 24, 2002
Would make this again.
Easy to make and tastes GREAT!!! 5 stars

  SONIA in ILLINOIS  Dec 22, 2002
Would make this again.
I used to make this in high school, love it then, lost the recipe, even better now, my family loves it!!! 5 stars

  Carolyn Wescott in Lutherville, Maryland  Dec 21, 2002
Would make this again.
Made it twice. Once dipping the pieces in chocolate.The other time spreading the chocolate on one side only. Great both ways, so may only do the dipping strategy when I really want to impress. It took a long time to dip and the candy started getting kind of soft in the chocolate. When you spread on the top though, I only used 12 oz or 2 cups of chocolate chips. It was plenty to cover. A wonderful treat for the holidays and a perfect hostess gift. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in San Diego  Dec 18, 2002
Would make this again.
This is a great recipe. A variation that is even easier: Pour into a pie tin (or cookie sheet). Then as the toffee cools, break up dark chocolate candy bars and sprinkle them onto top of toffee. Chocolate bars will melt--then use a knife to spread the chocolate. Before chocolate hardens, sprinle with pecans. When candy is completely cooled, break into pieces.You'll have chocolate on only one side, but no one I know has ever complained! :-) 5 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS