Christmas-Cookies.com

62 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of Cream Wafers

Photo by Brian Everett. Used with permission.	Opens photo in lightbox. Hit Escape or X to exit lightbox.

36-45 of 67 reviews   << Previous - Next >>

  A cookie baker in Spokane, WA.  Dec 16, 2007
Would make this again.
I love this recipe, my family has made it for years. Baking is a science and this recipe must be precise! Follow this recipe to a T and you will always have results. It's not a recipe to rush, it's a process, I usually break down into 3 days, a)make dough/refrig. b)roll-out "thin" & bake c) put filling in. It freezes well! I like to put almond flavoring in the crust. It's a festive pretty cookie as you can color the filling to the deco of the season. This is not a cookie to throw together or for beginners. You must be precise in cut outs to match up. This is a favorite by all at our family Christmas. One tip: in rolling out, use (sifted) powder sugar instead of flour, but the less the better. 5 stars

  A cookie baker  Dec 14, 2007
Would make this again.
The first time I made these cookies, they turned out very well -- a little bland so I decided to use peppermint extract in the future. The next two times I made them, they were a disaster, puffy and mishapened. I mix and shape all of my Christmas cookies and freeze the dough so they're ready to bake at the last minute. Possibly that doesn't work with these cookies, but it should. Anyway, I probably won't make them again after these last two experiences. Too bad -- when they're right, they look great on a cookie tray. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Chicago, IL  Nov 26, 2007
Would make this again.
These cookies were great! I made them for the first time and I probably didn't roll them out as thin as directed, but they were still wonderful. I will absolutely be making these again. I will most likely make them with other flavors for the filling with different colors for each. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in maine  Dec 10, 2006
Would make this again.
these cream wafers have been in my family for years now. i suggust that whom ever makes these to use real butter only in cookie and the frosting. use extra cream if needed not water. also you have to roll these paper thin and of course poke the fork in them before putting in the oven and you should have no problems with them coming out flat.good luck

  Stephanie in los angeles  Dec 10, 2006
Would not make this again.
I had been WAITING to make these cookies I searched on the site for the perfect 'give away' cookies this year for all of my co-workers. The cookies came out terrible! Rolling them out was VERY challening and then getting them from my table to the cooking sheet was even worse. They all were oddly mishapen and not uniform at all. When i used flour to make it easier when i went to dip the cookies in the sugar, the sugar wouldn't stay! So I resorted to making balls and smashing them in the palms of my hands which went a lot smoother but still made them oddly shaped. I finally got them all cooked and out of the oven and made my frosting middle. I tried them and they tasted bad. Not unedible or anything but nothing i'd ever be proud to say i baked. For the frosting i used almond extract instead of vanilla and maybe that's why, but it was gross. When i tried to pick up the cookies to sandwhich them together the cookies crumbled. I don't know why?! This recipe is definitly not easy and not for an average baker. I wouldn't reccomend this recipe to anyone. Good luck if you do decide to try it! 1 star

  Cookie Baker in Macon, GA in Macon, GA  Nov 28, 2006
Would make this again.
This recipe has been in my family for generations. We don't make them as a "sandwich", however; we frost them with a buttercream frosting. We also cust them into shapes with a cookie cutter (my mother always used a tiny star, as do I--about 1 1/4 inch). They melt in your mouth! They get raves at every get-together I make them for. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Jeannette, PA  Jun 19, 2006
Would make this again.
I love this cookie and so does everyone else. But lately I've had trouble. Thc cookie goes into the oven perfectly round, but comes out wierdly misshapen. Help! I've tried freezing the cookie tray, baking on parchment, etc. Doesn't help. Thanks PS I always use butter 5 stars

  A cookie baker  May 31, 2006
Would make this again.
We put the roll in the freezer to facilitate cutting. One of our friends just lumped them out and they still were fantastic, even with no filling. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Minnesota  Nov 30, 2005
Would make this again.
I seperate the fillilng into 2 bowls and color one bowl a light green and one a light pink for Christmas. These are so good. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Lancaster, CA  Nov 7, 2005
Would make this again.
These have to be the best cookies I have ever tasted in my entire life! They melt in your mouth. This year I'm going to make numerous batches & give them as gifts. Whoever came up with this recipe was/is a God-send. 5 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS