Christmas-Cookies.com

29 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of Cream Wafers

Photo by Brian Everett. Used with permission.	Opens photo in lightbox. Hit Escape or X to exit lightbox.

26-35 of 67 reviews   << Previous - Next >>

  Michelle in Woodbury, MN  Nov 13, 2009
Would make this again.
These ARE my Christmas childhood! My Mom made these every single Christmas. Now that we are all dairy/wheat free, we have skipped the last 3 holidays and they are just not the same! So this year I modified the recipe: 1 cup brown rice flour (or white rice flour), 1/2 cup tapioca flour, 1/2 cup potato starch flour, 2 tablespoons DariFree powder, 1-1/2 teaspoons xanthan gum, 1/2 cup palm shortening, 1/2 cup vegan soy-free buttery spread (Earth Balance), 1/3 cup water. Place all dry ingredients into zip-top bag, shake to combine; pour into mixing bowl, cut in frozen fats, work into pea-size meal, gently beat in water to form dough. Place on parchment paper, roll into long log, roll up in parchment, refrigerate 15 minutes; roll out, punch out round cookies, prick top with fork, dust in cane sugar, bake 375F for 7 minutes; FILLING: 3/4 cup powdered sugar, 1 teaspoon GF vanilla, 1/4 cup Earth Balance, blueberry juice/black cherry juice/carrot juice (blueberry+carrot = green) for food dyes. YUM once again!!! 5 stars

  Heather in York, PA  Dec 29, 2008
Would make this again.
I am so glad I found this recipe. My grandmother used to make these for Christmas but now she is in a nursing home and couldn't remember how she made them. They are delicious and I want to make them for my kids. 5 stars

  Kathy in Renton Wash.  Dec 18, 2008
Would make this again.
We have been making these little tasty gems for over 40 years. Always ahit this time ayearand you can't stop at one. 5 stars

  Judy in Pennsylvania  Dec 14, 2008
Would make this again.
My mother made these when I was a small child and I have been making them all of my married life(married at 18) and I am now 61. My kids love them and everyone I know loves them. A bit of a pain to make, but, well worth the effort!!!!!!! They are good for wedding showers with wedding colors as filling colors. They not only taste wonderful but they look pretty also! 5 stars

  16 year old in Ellendale, ND  Dec 11, 2008
Would make this again.
I loved them! You have to use a certain shape to make them all the same size (a circle works nice). You have to watch them because they burn very easily. The difference between burned and just right may be about 45 seconds. These cookies are fabulous and I will definitely make them again :D 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Pueblo West Co  Nov 28, 2008
Would make this again.
I have been making these since 1967 when a lady at work made them and sold them. Then I discovered they were in my Betty Crocker cookbook. I have made them every year since as it wouldn't be Chanukah without them. 5 stars

  Deanna in Ohio, in Florida for College  Mar 27, 2008
Would make this again.
I love this recipie! It is so much fun and delicious! 5 stars

  Marisa  Dec 25, 2007
Would make this again.
I have been making these for 25+ years - they are definitely a favorite! My mom makes over 12 different kinds each year - and she used to make 3 batches of these every year - that's a lot of little wafers to frost. A little tip - frost them with a spoon very gently - the first time I made them on my own, I broke the first 5 I tried to frost - they are fragile little guys! 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Clackamas, OR  Dec 20, 2007
Would make this again.
This cookie is a Christmas tradition with my family. My mom has made these since I was very small (I now approaching the 1/2 century mark). My nieces and kids call them "Christmas Crack" because they are so addictive and so good! 5 stars

  Robbie in Moosonee, Ontario  Dec 17, 2007
Would make this again.
I will make this again and again. I love these cookies. 5 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS