Christmas-Cookies.com

6 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of Chocolate Sugar Cookies

Chocolate Sugar Cookies	Opens photo in lightbox. Hit Escape or X to exit lightbox.

6-15 of 70 reviews   << Previous - Next >>

  Dawn in Massachusetts  Dec 28, 2010
Would make this again.
I made this for cut-out cookies with my nieces and nephew since they don't like gingerbread. I thought it odd that you're instructed to melt the butter, but I gave it a shot. I refrigerated the dough overnight, so it was almost too hard to roll the next day. I guess it says 30 minutes for a reason. I let it sit at room temperature for 30 minutes and, with a little effort, was able to roll it out to 1/4" thickness for cookies. I rolled onto parchment, and use a silicone rolling pin. This helped avoid sticking as it warmed up.

Since I was making the cookies in advance, I froze them once they were cut out. I then put them directly from the freezer into the oven. They baked up beautifully and maintained their shape. One tray had time to thaw a bit before baking, and that batch did spread quite a bit. They still looked okay, but not as nice as the ones from the freezer. So if you have the time, I recommend putting your cut-outs in the freezer for at least an hour or 2 before baking.

Now for the taste: I wasn't even considering flavor when I made this. I just wanted the cookies to look good. Well, they were absolutely wonderful! A bit crisp on the outside, chewy inside. I thought the level of chocolate flavor was perfect!
4 stars

  A cookie baker  Dec 25, 2010
Would make this again.
very tasty cookies, would make again for sure. 5 stars

  Ana Serrano in Costa Rica  Dec 21, 2010
Would make this again.
They should be called "cookies/brownies", everyone loved them. 4 stars

  A cookie baker  Dec 21, 2010
Would make this again.
I love this recipe, very simple. you can even omit the chocolate. These cookies are sugar cookies not cut out cookies, so why some people would be upset about the cookies being hard to work with I do not understand. I have made these for several years and will continue to do so. 5 stars

  Sherry in NC  Dec 10, 2010
Would make this again.
These are my absolute favorite cookies! I've made them every year for 8 years and everyone raves about them! Not too 'chocolatey' and oh so good. I have never had them turn out dry or brittle, (they're surprisingly moist in the center), but I've always just formed the sugar coated balls, never trying to use cut outs on them. They're super easy to make and have never failed me yet. Yummy!!! 5 stars

  Nicolana in CO  Dec 7, 2010
Would make this again.
These are good. I added and extra 1/2 cup of flour to the dough plus a tablespoon or two and baked them at 350 F. I had no excess oiliness or trouble with shape distortion as some others have. They taste good with the coconut frosting for German chocolate cake. 4 stars

  SARA in CANADA  Nov 24, 2010
Would not make this again.
WHOULD NEVER MAKE THESE AGAIN HARD TO WORK WITH AND WAY TO GREASY CANT CUT THEM OUT 1 star

   Nov 17, 2010
Would make this again.
These were really good. Easily cut them with the cookie cutters. We made gingerbread men, stars, reindeers, xmas trees. they were for a school project and my class loved them! topped with someone colorful icing was awesome!
Soft and moist but also crunchy!
5 stars

  A cookie baker  Dec 8, 2009
Would not make this again.
Dry, brittle, and don't hold their shape. After painstakingly cutting out the dough, I found that the gingerbread man shape, gingerbread woman shape, and christmas tree shape all looked the same: like blobs! The stars turned into pentagons. Also too oily. 1 star

  Jessica Prahl in Broolyn, NY  Dec 6, 2009
Would make this again.
Good cookies! Although, I didn't melt the butter, I used soft butter and premelted chocolate. Worked nicely! 5 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS