Christmas-Cookies.com

31 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of Hungarian Kifli


16-23 of 23 reviews   << Previous

  A cookie baker in Washington, DC  Nov 10, 2004
Would not make this again.
I actually thought they tasted rather heavy and doughy - not much taste at all. I did use sour cream. When rolled in sugar they were somewhat better, but I think they need some more sweetness - I don't know, they were lacking something. 2 stars

  Mary in Pinole, CA  Dec 10, 2003
Would make this again.
My aunt taught me to make these cookies when I was in my teens. She rolls the cookies in granulated sugar prior to baking on greased pans or on parchment paper (easiest). With the sugar you have to take care not to burn the cookies and also need to remove them from pans before they stick. The parchment paper is a lifesaver. I make these cookies every Christmas, they are my favorite. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Anaheim, CA  Dec 4, 2003
Would make this again.
This is a recipe that my hungarian family and I have made throughout the generations, its very Yummy!! Its never Christmas in our family without them however, we always add 1/2 cp of sugar and use cream cheese rather than cottage cheese and we put our favorite fruit butter fillingsuch as prune butter or apricot or whatever,it has to be sprinkled with powdered sugar.This recipe will be one of your new family traditions as ours. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Agoura Hills, CA  Aug 12, 2003
Would make this again.
I made the dough with sour cream.
Was quite easy to make, but it seemed to lack some flavor. So I sprinkled them with powdered sugar for some sweetness. Then they were yummy.
4 stars

  Ildiko in Indiana-Hungary  Jul 18, 2003
Would make this again.
This is one of the most delicious and easiest to prepare "cookie" people can taste. I recommend it to anyone who wants to fill his or her tummy with something special! 5 stars

  MaryAnn P in Longwood, FL  Dec 26, 2002
Would make this again.
This recipe is excellent. My first time making them with Cottage Cheese. I found the dough easy to work with. I chilled the dough for several hours. I used apricot preserves in some and raspberry in others. I also made the basket shape and dusted with sifted powdered sugar. Excellent. I will use this recipe again. 5 stars

  Brian Cunningham in Denver  Nov 27, 2002
Would make this again.
As well as Harriet, I doubled this recipe using the cottage cheese (it whips up better with the butter). I use apricot preserves, which is what my great grandmother used to do. Also like Harriet, I make them into little baskets. Watch these carefully as they will burn easily. Enjoy. 5 stars

  Harriet Stay in Port Townsend, WA  Nov 21, 2002
Would make this again.
I have make a variation of this recipe and consider this to be one of my favorite Christmas recipes. My recipe essentially doubles this, so there are lots of cookies for sharing. And I use sour cream. At one making I ran out of filling and used red current jelly for the rest. I love those, too. I cut the dough into 2" sqrs. Bring 2 opposite corners overlapping filling, then pinch to seal. Looks like a basket. Roll in powdered sugar after baking. 5 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS