Christmas-Cookies.com

31 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of Butterscotch Gingerbread People

Butterscotch Gingerbread People	Opens photo in lightbox. Hit Escape or X to exit lightbox.

26-35 of 74 reviews   << Previous - Next >>

  Jayde in Australia  May 7, 2008
Would not make this again.
i hated the whole ginger bread.
it was disgusting.
i would never try it again!!
i gave my kids some and they were neally sick.
they were horrible cookies.
i am warning every one to never try making the cookies
1 star

  A cookie baker in AZ  Jan 26, 2008
Would make this again.
Delicious!! I don't usually like gingerbread but I loved these (and so did everyone else)! Make sure to chill the dough for at least an hour prior to cutting out the gingerbread people. (Dough will be a bit hard at first, but once it starts to warm up at room temp it will be the perfect consistency for rolling out and cutting). I'm definitely making these again next winter! 5 stars

  Ms. Badresa in Chicago, IL  Dec 21, 2007
Would make this again.
I make these every year. I only have one recommendation. It calls for Brown Sugar. Use light brown sugar. Dark brown sugar gives the cookies an aftertaste that just borders on bitter. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Courtice, ON  Dec 19, 2007
Would make this again.
I loved this receipe.My kids don't like the plain sugar cookies, but they loved the taste of these.I used chocolate pudding mix, tasted great. Roll out in small sections, may stick to counter, use a flipper to make it easier to transfer to cookie sheet. 4 stars

  ASK in Lincoln, NE  Dec 18, 2007
Would make this again.
To those who are disappointed in how these turned out, my recommendation would be to not melt the butter (1/2 cup butter, softened). To soften the stick of butter, remove from fridge and let sit on the counter for an hour before using in the recipe. If you melt it in the microwave your dough will surely be sticky.

These were excellent

Good luck!
5 stars

  Ruth in Cedar Rapids, IA  Dec 18, 2007
Would make this again.
To Angry Baker & Heather, Do not prepare the pudding mix. You add the dry mix to the butter and brown sugar. 'Cook and serve' refers to the kind of pudding mix to use. In other words don't use the instant pudding mix but the kind you would have to cook. 5 stars

  Heather in Arizona  Dec 13, 2007
Would not make this again.
I agree with you "Angry Baker" !!! I am on the same boat as you right now! My dough is so gooey that I can't even roll out the dough to make gingerbread men which was my whole point :-/ Now I guess I'll just have to make boring round cookies and just drop the dough on the pan. BORING! 1 star

   Dec 12, 2007
Would make this again.
cool as purrrfect ;) 5 stars

  Angry baker  Dec 10, 2007
Would not make this again.
I was pumped to make these and eat them, sadly the instructions on the amount of pudding to use was lacking. And now I have a sticky gob of goo with 3 cups flour in it with no end in sight. Here's to rolling goo! WOOO 1 star

  Peggy in California  Dec 10, 2007
Would make this again.
Excellent Recipe. I have made this recipe every year for Christmas since I found it in a woman's magazine in the '70's. My children loved them and now my grandchildren love them. I also use extra spices for more punch. 5 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS