Christmas-Cookies.com

33 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of Meltaway Cookies


16-25 of 48 reviews   << Previous - Next >>

  jackie in maine  Dec 22, 2007
Would make this again.
My children helped with these. We crushed up some candy canes and added those with a drop of mint extract. The first batch was overcooked and turned into miniature rocks. The next batch was fine. The candy canes melted and got nice and chewy. Good flavor, definitely an easy recipe to alter. 5 stars

  daddyo in Michigan  Dec 20, 2007
Would make this again.
Glad i read the reviews and made some adjustments. I had them all on the cookie sheets made but they looked to big. so i went back and looked. I put them all back in my mixing bowl and added 1.5 teaspoon milk. and 2.5 teaspoons of orange juice. made one batch to see how they tasted.WONDERFUL.how big ? take some dough and put into teaspoon . make just a smidge smaller than that.also short on time with refigerated butter I put 2 sticks into microwave still wrapped for 12 seconds then stop turn over do another 12 seconds perfectly soft. thks for the recipe . yummy !!!! 5 stars

  Alisha in VA  Dec 14, 2007
Would make this again.
I just got through making these. They were very good. But I made them using "Kelly's" adjustments. I also added a few simple things to make them peppermint cookies. 1/2 tsp. vanilla, 1 tsp. peppermint extract, crushed peppermints and a simple red icing with 1/8 tsp. of peppermint extract added to it to drizzle on top. Very very good!! 4 stars

  A cookie baker  Dec 9, 2007
Would make this again.
one more thing- this version of the recipe does not say how big to make them. You should only use one teaspoonful of dough per cookie. The people who had problems with the inside being uncooked probably used too much dough. They should be small bite-size balls, they will not flatten or spread out if baked for 8 minutes. Cookies should be set but not brown. 5 stars

  A cookie baker  Dec 9, 2007
Would make this again.
This recipe is taken from page 113 of the 1963 "Betty Crocker Cooky Book". (reprinted in 2002)
Unfortunately, this version misses an important point. The original recipe calls for CAKE flour, not all-purpose flour. Cake flour has less gluten than all-purpose flour so it makes a tender, melt-in-your-mouth cookie. It's no surprise that so many people got bad results using the wrong flour. If you use cake flour you won't need to add cornstarch or any frosting, and they will be delicious!

Use real butter, never margarine.
5 stars

  Trisha in GA  Nov 30, 2007
Would make this again.
These are pretty good but you have to follow the adjustments the reviewer "Kelly" made to them. 5 stars

  A cookie baker  Nov 20, 2007
Would make this again.
These were such a hit everyone wanted to recipe a function I brought them too !! 5 stars

  Dana in Maiden NC  Dec 17, 2006
Would not make this again.
OK, aviod this recipe unless you like the taste of baked flour. I tried with margarine, followed the recipe to the T. (Took handfulls of the dough to make different variations).Came up with hard on the outside uncooked inside baked flour balls. Tried to flatten them, added nuts, chips, more vanilla, same results. Then tried someones idea of a bit of milk, no better. THEN tried adding flavorings such as butter rum, peppermint, rootbeer, anise, allspice/cinnamon/nutmeg/cardamom. SAME thing, they smelled great but tasted like baked flour. Not sure where you get meltaway out of hard flour balls. 1 star

  Kelly L. in Salt Lake City  Dec 1, 2006
Would make this again.
This recipe can be soooo good. Here's the secret! Cut back the flour to one cup, and add 3/4 cup corn starch. Cook for 10-12 min at 350. A easy, creamy frosting is a must for sweetness. Make with cream cheese, vanilla, powdered sugar, and a little butter. Make to your consistancy (like a carrot cake frosting). They will melt in your mouth, and become little bites of HEAVEN! 5 stars

  Jennifer in Houston, TX  Nov 25, 2005
Would make this again.
I made these and they looked like little pancakes. Would make them for my kids, but not for any other reason. Wish I'd seen the reviews and added other ingredients, though they were a little bland and dry. 5 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS