Christmas-Cookies.com

31 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of Meltaway Cookies


6-15 of 48 reviews   << Previous - Next >>

  A cookie baker in Wisconsin  Dec 22, 2009
Would make this again.
I have been making these for years. We make a powered sugar frosting to put on them instead of powered sugar dusted on them. 5 stars

  Suzanne in Elk Grove Village, IL  Sep 22, 2009
Would make this again.
The original book says cake flour. Do not use regular flour. 5 stars

  Eliza in Canada  Aug 30, 2009
Would make this again.
These cookies were so good! Even if your a big chocolate chip cookie fan this is still worth baking. It was easy to put together and a quick bake. It's also an easy clean up if you line the cookie sheet with foil. I added a hint of cinnamon to make it my own and it was fantastic! 5 stars

  Susan in MI  Dec 28, 2008
Would make this again.
These are a nice addition for those guests who don't want chocolate. They are similar to the much sweeter Mexican Wedding Cookies. If you want a sweeter cookie, adjust up with the sugar and down with the flour. The more sugar you use the more they will spread out. If you use salted butter, do not add the salt. Always look for the slight brown edges and they come our perfect every time. 5 stars

  Maria in Chicago  Dec 23, 2008
Would make this again.
My mom has been making this recipe as long as I can remember. They are a family tradition. The only variation is she uses cake flour which makes a world of difference in the taste!
I have continued her tradition with my children and they love to make them because they easy and delicious!
5 stars

  Marga  Dec 10, 2008
Would make this again.
wonderful added 1/2 cup pecan reduced1/2 flour 5 stars

  Chelsea in SLC, Utah  Nov 15, 2008
Would make this again.
My Mom & I have been making these cookies for over 10 years, and they are still the family favorite. (even over the classic chocolate chip cookies!) 5 stars

  daddyo in Michigan  Dec 24, 2007
Would make this again.
would make this again!!
added 1.5 teaspoon milk and 2.5 teaspoon orange juice.yummy !!!
5 stars

  Monique in Chicago  Dec 23, 2007
Would make this again.
I've been making these for years. I use only room temp butter and cake flour. Sift all dry ingredients. The nuts are thrown in the food processor to make them a little bit smaller. remember, these are supposed to melt in your mouth. I use a melon baller and form the cookies into little mounds. Don't smash them flat. There should be some ridges for the powder sugar to hold onto. You want to bake in a 450 degree oven for 5 to 7 minutes until the peaks are light brown. Transfer to a cooling rack. While they're still warm, use a sifter to sprinkle powdered sugar on them. When your done you should have a cookie that's moist inside with almost a shell like texture on the outside. They should look like little blond mountains covered in snow.

These are the most requested cookies I make. Especially for Christmas. I read another reviewer's comment about this recipe coming from a cook book from the 60's. I found this recipe in the Food section in a newpaper in the 90s. A woman won $100,000.00 for this recipe in a bake off.
5 stars

  Sharon in Fort Coliins Colorado  Dec 22, 2007
Would make this again.
There were so dang good, and easy to make. I used the cake flour and the milk and orange juice and they were to die for!!!!! 5 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS