Christmas-Cookies.com

29 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of Candy Cane Cookies

Photo by hlkljgk. Creative Commons license.	Opens photo in lightbox. Hit Escape or X to exit lightbox.

76-85 of 99 reviews   << Previous - Next >>

  A cookie baker in Pennsylvania  Dec 8, 2003
Would make this again.
I would not recommend this recipie, especially to novice bakers because there are a few flaws in the recipie itself. Confectioner sugar dough is fragile therefore very difficult to roll into strips as the recipie calls for. The salt content is too high. I can taste the salt in my dough. The recipie does not instruct you to chill the dough as in most sugar cookie recipies. Also, the word "recipie" is spelled incorrectly. I wonder if this site is worthwhile? 1 star

  Nancy in Iowa  Dec 3, 2003
Would not make this again.
There was something wrong with the consistency of the dough. Even after chilling for several hours, I couldn't form the candy canes. I mixed the two colors together slightly, rolled the dough into little balls and dipped them in the candy mixture. They tasted good but I wouldn't try this again. 1 star

  Danielle in New York  Dec 1, 2003
Would make this again.
it was ok 5 stars

  Erin  Dec 1, 2003
Would make this again.
I think the cookies that turned out tasted great! However, the amount of flour necassary threw me off and I found it threw the rest of the ingredients off as well...however for the cookies that did turn out they tasted great! 3 stars

  Carolyn Frame in Dumas, Texas  Nov 15, 2003
Would make this again.
Tonight I was looking in my recipe cards that are not very orginized. I could not find my candy cane cookie recipe. I then went to the puter and came to this site, and here the recipe is. I have made these cookies for years, and they are a real hit...Thanks ya'll...and Happy Holidays 5 stars

  Christi Owens in Texas  Oct 6, 2003
Would make this again.
I would make this again. It's great! 5 stars

  Marissa Wyatt in Orange, Texas  Oct 5, 2003
Would make this again.
It was the best cookie I have ever had!
They were the best!!!!!
5 stars

  A cookie baker in Innisfil, Ontario  Dec 23, 2002
Would not make this again.
Although the recipe sounds great, it isn't as easy as it sounds. The dough doesn't stick together and when you try to roll it together the dough just crumbles. A great idea but the recipe requires improvement. 1 star

  A cookie baker in Virginia  Dec 21, 2002
Would not make this again.
I had wonderful visions of CandyCane Cookies dancing in my head when I found this recipe. I thought to use peppermint extract instead of the vanilla for an added bonus. However, the actual cookie was not fun to make. The dough would not twist together easily (even after refrigeration). The mixture was too crumbly at some points and too sticky at others. I ended up rolling out the dough and cutting shapes with it. Worked fine for that... but not what I wanted. 2 stars

  A cookie baker in Pennsylvania  Dec 21, 2002
Would make this again.
I have made these before and I do not bother with the peppermint/sugar mix. You can also use peppermint extract instead of the almond if you're looking for the 'candy cane' taste. 5 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS