Christmas-Cookies.com

69 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of Candy Cane Cookies

Photo by hlkljgk. Creative Commons license.	Opens photo in lightbox. Hit Escape or X to exit lightbox.

6-15 of 99 reviews   << Previous - Next >>

   Dec 9, 2013
Would make this again.
Not the greatest for kids but good for adults. Kids don't seem to like the taste and texture. 4 stars

  A cookie baker in liverpool  Dec 2, 2013
Would not make this again.
it was terrible 1 star

  A cookie baker in caca  Dec 1, 2012
Would make this again.
awesome 2 stars

  Linda in Omaha  Dec 24, 2011
Would make this again.
Makes approx. 30 large cookies. I do not refrigerate the dough, as it makes it harder to work with. Taking hints from other similar recipes, I added a hint of vanilla in addition to the peppermint, and used 1/3 cup granulated sugar and 2/3 cup confectioners'--this makes them slightly sweeter. 4 stars

  Arthur in Stafford Springs  Dec 13, 2011
Would make this again.
I have made this recipe for the past two years at Christmas and Valentine's Day. I add peppermint extract as well as the almond extract. Instead of the candy being sprinkled on the cookies straight up, I make a cookie icing, usually colored red or pink with peppermint extract for flavor and then put the crushed candy canes on the top. While this cookie takes a lot of time to make, everyone I know likes them. I will be making them again, definitely. My wife's Aunt shared this recipe with me and I always make them with her in mind. Unfortunately this great, wonderful lady has passed on but I remember her every time I make these cookies. She will always be in my thoughts and prayers. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in ct  Dec 13, 2011
Would make this again.
Not fragile at all. 1) make into two small 1" balls. Roll each ball into a "stick" about 3-4" long. Put the two colors next to each other and then roll back and forth till they blend...then just twist a touch (while still flat on counter --slightly roll top to left with one hand and bottom to right with the other) and then curl the top to form candy cane. Want fewer, make large. For larger yield can make them as small as you like. 5 stars

  A cookie baker  Dec 10, 2011
Would make this again.
If you start with softened butter, I would NOT put the dough in the fridge. It made it really hard and crumbly. I ended up giving up on the canes and rolling out cut-outs. They taste great but the canes are almost impossible. 3 stars

  A cookie baker in Ohio  Dec 24, 2010
Would make this again.
I made these cookies last year, or at least attempted to. It was hard for me to form into a candy cane, sooooo I just formed into balls and then flattened with a glass dipped in colored sugar. Some of them i sprinkled the candy cane pieces on top of the cookie. I really liked the dough, so I will make again....in my with the same method I used last year! =) 4 stars

   Dec 19, 2010
Would make this again.
I made 36 candy canes and hearts. They look great. Some break easily if you make them too thin. Taste wise...a little doughy for me. I was looking for this recipe because I used to make it when I was little. It is time consuming, but fun. 3 stars

  A cookie baker in ny state  Dec 18, 2010
Would make this again.
i would make this again, but it took longer than expected. the cookies r fragile to make. 5 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS