Christmas-Cookies.com

31 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of Buckeyes

Buckeyes	Opens photo in lightbox. Hit Escape or X to exit lightbox.

76-85 of 162 reviews   << Previous - Next >>

  karen in ohio  Dec 3, 2006
Would make this again.
good recipe. for those who do not have double boilers. buying the chocolate (little disc) from a candy store or bulk chocolate is so much better than the melting of the chips and wax..... and it is so much faster.. I have been doing it that way for 7+ years... and to cover up the tooth pick hole. just put alittle dab of the peanut butter misx and smooth it in.. I usually do this over 2 days (I have little kids). I make the peanut butter mixture and ball them up on lined cookie sheets (with wax paper)then the next day microwave the choclate and there they are. great with a tall glass of milk.. My family and in laws love it. 5 stars

  Karen in Monongahela, Pa.  Dec 3, 2006
Would make this again.
This is a great recipe. I've used it many times!! One thing though....put the ball into the freezer for 30 minutes or so to firm them up before dipping in chocolate. This will keep the on the toothpicks and make them much easier to handle. 5 stars

  Joanne in Ohio  Dec 3, 2006
Would make this again.
This is a very good candy and well worth the time I live in Ohio to purchase in a store the cost would be about 12.99 a lb can be made at a fraction of that. How ever when dipping I found that a wooden skewer broke in half works much better then a tooth pick which can be quite tedious. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in OHIO  Dec 2, 2006
Would make this again.
I have been making Buckeyes for the last few years at Christmas time for my employees. This year I tried this recipe WHAT A NIGHTMARE!!! I had to add at least another pound of powder sugar, it was a sloppy mess until then. I would suggest finding a different recipe and making it several times to get 400, of course if you need 400. And yes I measured to the "T". I enjoy making these and my employees ask for them all year long. 1 star

  A cookie baker in pittsburgh  Dec 2, 2006
Would make this again.
There is secret my mother told me about to keep the little buggers on the toothpick and to keep their shape. You have to freeze the peanut butter balls for 1/2 hour before dipping them. the chocolate will harden fast once dipped and they wont fall off the toothpick! 5 stars

  Rachel in GA  Dec 1, 2006
Would make this again.
This recipe is very good. I made it without the parafin wax, because I hate that waxy consistency. Like the lady above, I also had trouble dipping, but I figured out that if you put a toothpick in each side and then dip them, they are easier to coat and you won't loose your ball. Place them on the wax paper to cool and remove the toothpick right when you lay it down. The chocolate will ooze down to cover the two holes while it is still warm. Good luck!

PS - This recipe makes a HUGE batch so its fun to get your kids involved in an assembly line type thing!
5 stars

  A cookie baker  Nov 30, 2006
Would not make this again.
These balls taste like the ones from my childhood however they were really difficult to shape into balls; the toothpicks were impossible to use. To get a decent working consistency, I added more powdered sugar and then refrigerated the peanut butter mixture for half an hour. The chocolate coating seemed heavy on the wax, I'd use less next time 5 stars

  Janette M in Dallas Texas  Nov 28, 2006
Would make this again.
They taste wonderful!! I made them with my bestfriends children they had a blast making them. The smaller you make the balls the easier it is to dip in chocolate mixture. It's very difficult getting the last of the powdered sugar in with a hand mixer so we used our hands 3 stars

  A cookie baker in NY  Nov 27, 2006
Would make this again.
I LOVED THIS AND IT DIDN'T TAKE 6 HOURS!
I made this last year at Christmas, and I'm getting ready to make it again. Instead of chocolate chips and paraffin wax, I used dipping chocolate. This was so much easier! I bought the "Bakers" brand, but you can get it at most grocery stores.
5 stars

  Lois in Michigan  Nov 24, 2006
Would make this again.
These have got to be my favorite christmas time specials!!! I love them! The take a little time to make but in the end it is all worth it! I recommend these to anyone!! YUM! 5 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS