Christmas-Cookies.com

34 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of Buckeyes

Buckeyes	Opens photo in lightbox. Hit Escape or X to exit lightbox.

66-75 of 162 reviews   << Previous - Next >>

  A cookie baker in Florida  Oct 4, 2007
Would make this again.
These are wonderful!! I have made these for YEARS and YOU HAVE to put them in the refrigerator and let them chill for "aleast" an hour or longer. They do not come off of the toothpick as long as they are cold. 5 stars

  Debbie S in Bend, Oregon  Dec 12, 2006
Would make this again.
I love this recipe only I used chocolate almond bark in place of the chocolate chips and wax. It's easier to melt in the microwave. And sets up faster. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Rochester  Dec 12, 2006
Would make this again.
Some Tips:
I use an egg-white separator to coat the peanut butter ball. Put the peanut butter ball into the separator, then use a spoon to pour some chocolate over the ball. You will have to rotate the ball to get it completely covered.
Definitely chill the peanut butter mixture before dipping.
Use 1 tsp - 1 TBSp of shortening instead of the wax. Add in small amounts until its your desired consistency/taste.
5 stars

  Terra Hunt in TN  Dec 11, 2006
Would make this again.
These are my families favorite Christmas goodie. My suggestion and I've been making these for years is to put them in the fridge for at least an hour before dipping and they will be much easier to keep on your toothpick. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Houston,TX  Dec 7, 2006
Would make this again.
After trying mostly unsuccessful to get the Peanutbutterballs dipped in the Chocolate and then put on a Toothpick and transfer them to a Plate,I gave up frustrated.
I wanted to give it another try so.
So I put the Leftoverdough in the Fridge overnight to harden it.
The next morning it had a perfect Consistency to roll.
Also, I melted the Chocolate and spread it on a Cookiesheet covered with waxpaper, so it was easy to roll them, and stick them with the Toothpick and transfer them.They cmae out wonderful and everybody loved them.
4 stars

  A cookie baker in Minneapolis, MN  Dec 7, 2006
Would not make this again.
These are the ones I recall from my childhood and are well liked by my family. However, like a previous poster, I found them difficult to "assemble".

I found the peanut butter mixture too loose and had to thicken it up with additional powdered sugar. (I used creamy - perhaps this has something to do with the consistency?) I skipped the toothpicks all together, as even after adding more sugar, I could not get them to stick in the peanut butter mixture.

I also thought that there was too much wax for the chocolate (I swear I can taste it) and when I make again (yes, my family convinced me we need more), I'll be using less. I also ended up with lots of extra chocolate mixture, which I solidified in hopes that it saves well.

I sprinkeled crushed peanuts on a number of the balls for interest.

These get a 4 from me because they are a pain to make but so yummy!
4 stars

  Nicole in Florida  Dec 7, 2006
Would make this again.
Excellent! I also had a hard time with the peanut butter in the chocolate but I found if you put the peanut butter balls in the fridge first it helps. 5 stars

  Glorious in Canton, MICHIGAN  Dec 6, 2006
Would make this again.
1st to Linda in MN, DID YOU NOT REFRIG YOUR BALLS!!! This makes them firm and then they can with stand the warm goo. They are very easy you do not have to do the dipping the same day you make the balls and they are delicous to eat and great for gift giving.... 5 stars

  Jess in Chicago, IL  Dec 5, 2006
Would make this again.
I think that the cookies are PHENOMENAL! My suggestion to those who had troubles with the peanut butter portion getting too soft...stick the balls in the refridgerator or freezer to help keep their form until you are ready to dip...makes things a heck of a lot easier. The chocolate still coats just as easy! 5 stars

  A cookie baker in ALABAMA USA!  Dec 4, 2006
Would make this again.
I love this candy! My family would make these every Christmas and it was always fun - but so time consuming! At least ten years ago we started making this in the same manner as fudge; in a pan. Prepare the pan (grease or line with non-stick foil) and press the peanut butter mixture FIRMLY into the bottom of the pan. I usually use a sheet of waxed paper to help press it in evenly, plus it keeps your hands from getting all messy. Melt chocolate (you can omit paraffin from recipe) and spread on top. Refrigerate until set. You may find it helpful to score the candy before the chocolate hardens completely. The candy tastes just as good BUT it is so much easier and quicker to make!! I like to do a lot of baking at Christmastime for gifts and this allows me the time to make so many other goodies too! Happy Holidays!!! 3 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS