Christmas-Cookies.com

33 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of Buckeyes

Buckeyes	Opens photo in lightbox. Hit Escape or X to exit lightbox.

56-65 of 162 reviews   << Previous - Next >>

  Tamara  Nov 20, 2007
Would make this again.
We love this recipe. I'm from ohio and have had these all my life. They are the best! I've never used a recipe with wax in it and they always turn out great. 4 stars

  Bitsy Pearlstein in Sheboygan, WI  Nov 19, 2007
Would make this again.
This is a great recipe. Makes great sweet chocolate balls. Every year I let my kids help me make these balls. They would make a big mess. I recently moved from Pennsylvania to WI. We are big fans of the balls! Good luck to all of yince' that are going to make the sweet chocolate balls this year. Happy Christmas! 5 stars

  Brittany Williams in Orrville,Ohio  Nov 5, 2007
Would make this again.
I absokutely love these Buckeyes, and it is a very easy recipe to make. 5 stars

  Addie in NC  Nov 4, 2007
Would make this again.
This is a very easy reciepe to make!! Everyone loves these... I use half milk chocolate chips and half semi-sweet chips when dipping the buckeyes. I put the balls in the fridge to firm up after rolling them, but work fast on the dipping because the buckeyes will melt in the chocolate if left in to long. I use two spoons for dipping, no toothpick. Drop the ball in the chocolate and move the chocolate around the ball until even, then remove with one spoon, other spoon wipes the extra chocolate off and then drop on baking sheet. Makes for a prettier buckeye with out the toothpick whole... 5 stars

  Melissa in Kettering, Ohio  Nov 2, 2007
Would make this again.
Forgot to mention in last post, the last time I made these, I used the parafin wax. It seemed the wax kept the balls from melting in our fingers too quickly, however the wax dulled the chocolate taste. This time I will use the melting chips or dipping chips. It will be easier for my little guys to help. I also like the idea of using white chocolate and calling them "snowballs." 5 stars

  Melissa in Kettering, Ohio  Nov 2, 2007
Would make this again.
Making Buckeyes is a tradition for me. Every year in the fall, a group of us kids would go to Mrs. Farren's house and spend the day making Buckeyes. It was great fun to make and then eat til' our tummies ached. I look forward to making them with my children now that they are old enough. We moved many times, but I still remain an Ohio State Buckeye Fan. Good Luck to my nephew Brien, a Freshman this year at OSU. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Ohio  Oct 29, 2007
Would make this again.
I love these buckeyes. My grandma has made them for years and now i can. These are my favorite christmas treat. 5 stars

  A cookie baker  Oct 22, 2007
Would make this again.
I have made this recipe for over 30 years. I always place the balls in the fridge or freezer to get cold before dipping into chocolate and I have changed to milk chocolate chips in stead of using semi sweet. I always use a toothpick to dip them in, never leave them in and after dipping all of the balls I gentley rub the top to cover the hole up. This really is a candy not a cookie. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Ohio  Oct 13, 2007
Would make this again.
My son is on his second tour of duty in Iraq. I sent him some last time & the troops loved them. I was requested to send enough for his WHOLE platoon this time......42. Everyone loves them. I got this recipe off my step mom over 25 years ago. 5 stars

  Theresa in lovelady texas  Oct 11, 2007
Would make this again.
I have been making these for yrs I use almond bark to coat the peanut butter works great You can use half white and half chocolate and it gives it a milk chocolate flavor 5 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS