Christmas-Cookies.com

30 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of Buckeyes

Buckeyes	Opens photo in lightbox. Hit Escape or X to exit lightbox.

16-25 of 162 reviews   << Previous - Next >>

  Greg in Lodi wisconsin  Dec 20, 2010
Would make this again.
My wife makes these every year. They are great. She doesn't think they are to hard to make. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Ohio-live in California  Dec 19, 2010
Would make this again.
I learned to make these when I 13 and have been making them every year since then, I am 52 and they are a family favorite- take some work and time but are worth the tradition 5 stars

  Wendy Martin in Burlington Vermon  Dec 19, 2010
Would make this again.
Wow, I had a blast making these. I didn't get 400 buckeyes maybe I made them too big. I dipped them in roasted coconut, gramcrackers, and Christmas candy sprinkles. They came out very festive and tasted great. I most certainly will make them again. With the excess chocolate I poured it onto waxpaper and sprinkled it with the remainder of the coconut and ground gramcrakeres. Two delightful gifts in one. Thanks Wendy 5 stars

  Vicki in New York  Dec 16, 2010
Would not make this again.
If you feel you really must try these cookies, get a reese's peanut butter cup and forget it. They were messy, a waste of toothpicks, hard to roll, hard to keep on the toothpicks, a waste of time and money. Prepare to be rolling balls for hours too by the way.... 1 star

  A cookie baker in california  Dec 10, 2010
Would make this again.
this is such a wonderful recipe ...its yummy and easy to make!!!!!happy baking!!! 5 stars

  Frances in Spokane, WA  Dec 8, 2010
Would make this again.
I've made these for years, too, and everyone always requests them. But instead of paraffin wax, I've always used a few tablespoons of shortening - melt with the chocolate chips. Definitely keeps the chocolate from being so messy. 5 stars

  Linda in Ohio  Dec 7, 2010
Would make this again.
I have made these for years but one year wanted a lighter version so I used 1 cup of plain or vanilla yogurt & 1 stick of butter instead of all the butter they were creamer and a little softer but everyone loved them. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in NC  Dec 5, 2010
Would not make this again.
I make cookies every Christmas and thought I would give these a try seeing that my husband is from Ohio. I found that the peanutbutter was too soft to roll and even after I froze them I still couldnt roll them without a mess. I did not want to waste all the peanutbutter so I made them into squares. 2 stars

  Selena in Hamilton, Ohio  Dec 22, 2009
Would make this again.
This is a great recipe. For a little change of pace, you can roll the buckeyes in other ingredients immediately after the chocolate dipping. (Be sure to use the wax; it helps the added ingredient adhere. I roll mine in coconut flakes, crushed pecans, and candy sprinkles for a more decorative (and more tasteful) flair! 5 stars

  Sheila in Ga  Dec 21, 2009
Would make this again.
I love these my cousin started me on them many years ago and we have to make them every Christmas. As far as not using the wax the balls fall apart to easy without it. 5 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS