Christmas-Cookies.com

31 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of Scottish Shortbread


16-25 of 25 reviews   << Previous

  McKechnie in Scotland  Feb 20, 2008
Would make this again.
Since this recipe came from a McKechnie which means they come from the Clan MacDonald- I can assure you, this recipe is correct..the only thing that our family(also McKechnie's) (also from the Clan MacDonald) is to bake it at a much lower temperature and bake it for 1 hour. Cheers 5 stars

  A cookie baker in UK  Feb 20, 2008
Would make this again.
This recipe is perfect. Scottish shortbread is NOT made with powdered sugar although I have definitely seen it made with granulated (extra finely granulated)and some powdered sugar - personal preference on the texture, that's all. 5 stars

  A cookie baker  Dec 31, 2007
Would make this again.
Amazing, so simple & scrumptious. I made 6 batches so far in a week for friends at Christmas time & have gotten rave reviews. Super recipe. Will become a tradtion every year. Thanks for sharing this special recipe! :) 5 stars

  M. Nicholson in Canada  Dec 18, 2007
Would not make this again.
althought this recipe makes passable shortbread cookies, it is not the traditional Scottish recipe. It should be made with powdered sugar not granulated sugar. Some bakers have substituted brown or golden sugar, however,using powdered sugar ( icing sugar) has been the recipe from the Scottish highlands passed down in my family for over 10 generations. Try it, you will be in for a truly scottish shortbread biscuit. 2 stars

  Monica in Albuquerque  Nov 29, 2007
Would make this again.
This is a fabulous recipe! I made a batch for a charity event and then made one for home - I halved the flour with whole wheat for home so they could "officially" be eaten for breakfast. Both batches were superb! 5 stars

  Nana in Dayton, Texas  Sep 18, 2007
Would make this again.
I am of Scottish descent, and have been making shortbread for years. I was in a hurry and could not find my usual recipe, so I started looking. This recipe was just what I needed. Not only is it traditional, but my husband says it was the best he has ever eaten!
I have foregone my other recipes and have referred this recipe to all my friends. Thank you.
5 stars

  A cookie baker  Dec 11, 2006
Would make this again.
finally a true scottish recipe have made this for years your grandma and mine must be related mine from glasgow area 5 stars

  A cookie baker  Dec 7, 2006
Would make this again.
have made shortbread by this very recipe every year that I can remember and I am now in my 80's. Just ready to make this year's batch. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in New Jersey  Nov 26, 2006
Would make this again.
It is very good, it also tastes very sweet. 4 stars

  A cookie baker in Australia  Nov 24, 2006
Would make this again.
Truly delicious....will make it all year round...not just for Christmas 5 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS