Christmas-Cookies.com

30 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of Coconut BonBons


6-15 of 22 reviews   << Previous - Next >>

   Dec 22, 2009
Would not make this again.
I have been searching for a "snowball" candy recipe and this one seemed close to what my husband described to me. I don't know if I didn't add enough icing sugar,coconut or what..but mine turned out to be flat,messy,gooey,sticky messes. I had put them in the fridge to set up for over an hour before rolling them into balls but they flattened on the cookie sheet and were very difficult to roll into a ball shape. Any ideas? His ex use to make them and they are his favorite..thanks! 1 star

  Todd in Freeport Il.  Dec 7, 2009
Would make this again.
I have made these many times through the years. Try adding pecan or almond pieces.( Makes them taste like almond joys). Also think chocolate is easier to work with using parrafin rather than shortening. 4 stars

  A cookie baker in Indiana  Dec 5, 2009
Would make this again.
Instead of solid shortning, use parafin in the chocolate. Save the fat. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in judy in texas  Dec 24, 2008
Would make this again.
These were ok but way to much coconut. If I made again I would cut the coconut in half. And what a mess to make 2 stars

  A cookie baker in Chicago, Illinois  Dec 22, 2008
Would make this again.
Hi, these are excellent if you love coconut. My only suggestion is to try them with dark chocolate chips, otherwise they were excellent and super easy. Thanks! 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Minot, ND  Dec 20, 2008
Would make this again.
My mother made these all the time when we were growing up - she is now 76 - and she used to put a marachino cherry in the middle of half of the batch. Then she used to dip in the chocolate chips but used wax instead of the Crisco. Must have been cheaper!! She also used toothpicks to dip with instead of a fork. I haven't made them in a long time but they are on my list to make for neighbors. 5 stars

  home maker in wyoming  Dec 11, 2008
Would make this again.
I will be making these the rest of my life!I made these last christmas for my husbands Work.They were the first to be eaten.Everyone loves them.I used almond bark for dipping. 5 stars

  Dee in Bobtown, Pa  Nov 24, 2008
Would make this again.
Fantastic!!! Made these for my husband, who "LOVES" coconut, and he just couldn't get enough! Thank for such an easy recipe!!! 5 stars

  A cookie baker  Dec 16, 2007
Would make this again.
I added nuts and sone extract. They where good. 5 stars

  Holly in Aurora NY  Dec 10, 2007
Would make this again.
This is a lot better if you use 14 oz of cococut and get rid or the confectioners sugar. I have been making these this way for years and I got it from my exhusbands grandmother. I don't think that a 70 year old lady would steer in wrong. Try it this way. 3 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS