Christmas-Cookies.com

30 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of Spicy Gingerbread Cookies


16-25 of 84 reviews   << Previous - Next >>

  Caroline H in New York  Dec 21, 2007
Would make this again.
Nice and crisp. Great for decorating the tree. I think I'll be baking the last batch a bit shorter in time to see if i can get a nice soft cookie for the kids. I had no issue with saltiness, as I used 1 tsp. I used this same recipe last year for my tree ornaments and loved them then too! 5 stars

  David & Kyeung-Hee in Philadelphia & Korea  Dec 18, 2007
Would make this again.
This was an excellent base recipe for my gingerbread demon cookies. (I call them demon rather than men, because in addition to the ingredients in the recipe, I also added several extremely hot additions, including Blair's Possible Side Effects sauce, Sweet Death sauce, Jersey Death sauce, and Death Rain Nitro spice.) I also included about 1/4 cup spiced ginger preserves, and slightly more of all of the spices than listed. I put foil over the baking sheet, and there was no problem with sticking at all. The taste and texture are both excellent! Two thumbs up! (Well, four, actually, since there are two of us!) 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Virginia  Dec 17, 2007
Would make this again.
These were very good. I only added 1 tsp of salt, but other wise followed the recipe. I measured out the flour and set 1 cup aside then mixed the remaining 5 cups of flour with the other ingredients.

I used the extra cup to work with the dough until it was the perfect texture. These cookies are very flavorful!
5 stars

   Dec 15, 2007
Would not make this again.
Wonderful tasting!!!! I would definately make them again if it wasn't such a difficulty to get them off the cookie sheet. Any suggestions? 3 stars

  A cookie baker in Southern Florida  Dec 11, 2007
Would make this again.
I made them for the first time two Christmases ago and fell in love with the recipe; they're the perfect mix of crisp and chewy, and very spicy as well. They may not be super sweet, but I can't understand how people are saying they're too salty. These are brilliant, plain and simple. 5 stars

  martha in Tacoma, WA  Dec 10, 2007
Would not make this again.
Very disappointing results. This was the first time I have made gingerbread cookies so I wasn't familiar with the recipe. I'm hoping that there was a mistake in the recipe - it called for 6 cups of flour other recipes I've found only called for 3 cups. Which would explain a lot - the dough was very sandy and hard to work work and once the cookies were baked they were very blah tasting. They were so bad in fact, even my dog wouldn't eat them. 1 star

  rocknkuchen in forest knolls, ca  Dec 9, 2007
Would make this again.
Made the recipe exactly except used 1/4 tsp. of black pepper instead of 1/2.

They came out great. The finicky 3 year old even loved them and loved helping. Some family didn't "like gingerbread", but tried them and changed their tune.

All in all a great success. Nice recipe.
5 stars

  A cookie baker  Dec 3, 2007
Would make this again.
This is my family's all time favorite cookie recipe! 5 stars

  A cookie baker  Nov 18, 2007
Would make this again.
PERFECTION!!!!!

This was my first time baking gingerbread cookies and they came out perfect. The spices are just right, not too overpowering. Although I substituted ground cloves with nutmeg and added just 1 teaspoon of salt. Do not let the pepper scare you away for this recipe, it adds to the spiciness and you canít even detect the pepper. Baking the cookies for 8-9 minutes makes the cookies soft and delicious. You will get great results if you follow this recipe.
5 stars

  tina  Nov 16, 2007
Would make this again.
I made these last year, everybody raved. 5 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS