Christmas-Cookies.com

62 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of Spicy Gingerbread Cookies


6-15 of 84 reviews   << Previous - Next >>

  Catnmouse in Ohio  Nov 20, 2010
Would make this again.
This cookies are a favorite in my house.

I couldn't imaging mixing these with another than a power mixer, its like mixing concrete. A 1/4 cup of water does help however.

This make a ton of cookies. Using the parchment/wax paper keeps the sticky dough from sticking to the rolling pin.
4 stars

  Ellen in Minnesota  Dec 23, 2009
Would make this again.
I thought this was a great crisp recipe. My only concern was the dough was a little dry. We ended up adding a bit of water to the dough to make rolling it out easier. Very nice otherwise! 4 stars

  Ally Madeline GB  Dec 13, 2009
Would make this again.
Delish! I made them too thick the first time around so really listen to that 1/8" rule! I cooked them for 8 minutes so they were chewy :). 5 stars

  A cookie baker from Jerusalem  Jan 7, 2009
Would make this again.
It was my first experience with gingerbread cookies and they came out quiet good: crispy, with delicious smell and look. I took honey instead of molasses since could not find it in the store. As to the flour, I took 5 cups and put one aside. In the end I used 6 and half cups, because the dough was too sticky to work with it. I mixed it with my hands and added flour till the first moment when the dough stopped sticking to my hands. I discovered that the dough can be stored in a fridge for 2 days with no harm to it. 5 stars

  Lisa C. in Chicago Il.  Dec 16, 2008
Would make this again.
These were so good. I made them this last weekend, to test them for my Christmas party on the 24th. My family loved them. They were a bit hard to stir, but its well worth all the effort. I did not have ground cloves so I used ground nutmeg instead. They came out delicious. My whole family gave me the thumbs up to make this for christmas! 5 stars

  Jamaica in Massachusetts  Dec 13, 2008
Would make this again.
My father and I made this and they were delicious. We made them half recipe and we loved them. We twinged the recipe a bit by adding about a quarter cup of water to the mixture when we added the flour mixture because my dad was having a hard time stirring. We did not find them too salty or to spicy. They were great!!! 5 stars

  angelina  Nov 30, 2008
Would make this again.
I've tried many recipes and this one makes the house just smell like christms!
TIP- I've found that if you refrigorate the dough over night instead of one hour, it allows the spices to blend,very nice, and easier to handle, also you don't have to chill the cut cookies for 15 mins if you do this. Just a tip
5 stars

  L in NYC  Nov 25, 2008
Would make this again.
I used to hate gingerbread cookies b/c they were bland and hard. This is one of my new favorite cookie recipes! The best gingerbread cookie...ever! 5 stars

  A cookie baker  Nov 9, 2008
Would make this again.
try using parchment paper on the cookie sheet 5 stars

  A cookie baker in maryland  Dec 24, 2007
Would make this again.
I love thease cookies 5 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS