Christmas-Cookies.com

62 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of Royal Icing

Royal Icing	Opens photo in lightbox. Hit Escape or X to exit lightbox.

36-45 of 52 reviews   << Previous - Next >>

  A cookie baker in Ohio  Dec 20, 2004
Would make this again.
I loved this recipe! Although, It should be notes when using meringue powder it takes more water than 2 TBS. I started with that and added until it looked almost like deflated marshmallow fluff. But it turned out well and it took on the consistancy I was looking for. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Illinois  Dec 6, 2004
Would not make this again.
I like the look of royal icing, but, also, think it is too hard. I make a similar glossy icing. I use 2 c powdered sugar, 2 - 3 T milk (depending on the humidity), 1/4 tsp. almond extract for bland cookie dough (less for doughs that taste well on their own)and paste coloring. This icing flows through a squeeze bottle, keeps to an outline while easily filling in large areas and tastes superb. I get great comments on it. The only problem is that about the third day the icing begins to discolor, and, refrigerating makes this worse. You can also use vanilla extract, but, the almond seems to be a bigger hit.

  A cookie baker in Liverpool, England  Dec 4, 2004
Would make this again.
Amazing! I loved the texture very easy to work with and very tasty! mmmmm! Would use again! p.s only one problem my boyfriend liked it so much he ate most of it out of the bowl! men! x 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Texas  May 20, 2004
Would not make this again.
Although this icing makes for pretty decorating, it dries too hard and crunchy. It actually hurt my teeth to bite into it. I have found that Toba Garret's glace icing is much more compatible with my decorating needs. It dries solid and stackable, yet chewy. I think royal icing should be used for nonedible items such as cookie ornaments and gingerbread houses. 2 stars

  A cookie baker in Bangladesh  Dec 24, 2003
Would make this again.
I used this recipe to make gingerbread houses and it worked really good. I will use it every day of my life. Thank you for your recipe. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Rhode Island  Dec 21, 2003
Would make this again.
I made this for the spicy gingerbread cookie recipe and it worked very well. I lined the cookies with the recipe as is and flooded them with a thinned version of the same. To thin the icing, I just added water in very small incriments until icing was the consistancy of paint. I used a small round tip for the lining and a small flat tip for the flooding. Using the small flat tip gave me better control over the flow. 5 stars

  Pooja in Bangalore  Dec 20, 2003
Would make this again.
It was really tasty. Fun and easy to make. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in new york  Dec 19, 2003
Would make this again.
we use royal icing to put together gingerbread houses for the winter holidays. The houses make it home with the children, even on the bus!! we love the ease of using royal icing and it tastes good too! 5 stars

  A Dessert Maker in Canada  Dec 16, 2003
Would make this again.
It was awsome! And So Creamy! Amazingly Delicious!! 5 stars

  Teresa Phillips in Hearne Tx  Dec 14, 2003
Would make this again.
ROYAL ICING is the best. I've used it the past five years. 5 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS