Christmas-Cookies.com

32 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of Gingerbread Spritz


6-15 of 16 reviews   << Previous - Next >>

  A cookie baker in Lenexa, KS  Dec 17, 2008
Would make this again.
I liked this dough. It was easy and fast to make. The dough was pretty sticky though, which made it a little tricky to get the cookies to press right. But I had it figured out before I finsihed the first tube/sheet. I think adding just a little more flour will help the next time I make it. 4 stars

  A cookie baker  Dec 7, 2008
Would not make this again.
How many ways can you say bland, boring, and just plain blah? Absolutely no flavor whatsoever. The dough came out perfectly, and my 9 year old had a blast playing with the cookie press. The final result wasn't worth the effort. 1 star

   Dec 23, 2007
Would not make this again.
This does not taste like a traditional gingerbread man recipe. There is quite a lot of molasses for the size of the recipe which makes the cookies taste more like a molasses cookie rather than a gingerbread one. Quite a disappointment if you're expecting a gingerbread man kind of taste. 2 stars

  Nancy in Nashua, NH  Dec 18, 2007
Would not make this again.
I didn't like them at all. The dough was too soft. They were very bland. I would have liked more spice, and even more sugar. A total waste of ingredients, and calories - not worth the cheat. I don't know what I am going to do with them. 1 star

  A cookie baker in Utah  Dec 14, 2007
Would make this again.
I had fun making these, but felt they didn't have enough ginger flavor. I'll make them again because I want to add finely chopped candied ginger to see if that will make it sweeter and more 'gingery'. 3 stars

  A cookie baker in Damscus, MD  Dec 10, 2007
Would not make this again.
Being an avid spritz maker, this dough was unsatisfactory for me. Too soft and did not give a crisp clean press. Spritz dough usually gets refrigerated for about 15 minutes and even though I did (which recipe does not call for)it still was too soft.I gave up after 3 tubes and dumped the rest of the dough. 2 stars

  A cookie baker  Oct 13, 2007
Would make this again.
These were really fun to make and taste good. I will most definitely make them again. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in golden colorado  Dec 11, 2006
Would make this again.
great cookies
great consistency
i frosted them with a vanilla glaze(from eggnog spritzes with vanilla instead of rum)
they taste good and are super easy to make
i will be making these every year!
5 stars

  Stacy in Derwood, MD  Nov 23, 2005
Would not make this again.
This recipe sounded so promising from the ingredient list and glowing reviews, but I was a little disappointed with the results. I had trouble with the consistency in my cookie press (which, admittedly, may be because I'm new at it!). My main problem with this recipe is that the cookies weren't sweet enough for me - I found that sprinkling sifted powdered sugar on top while they were still warm helped a bit, but probably not enough for me to make them again. Maybe increasing the amount of brown sugar would help, but I worry it would throw off the consistency. Anyway, I probably won't make them again, but I'll keep my eye out for a similar recipe since something like this really would be great for Christmas.

I see that the yield was not included with the recipe - it may depend on things like cookie press model and template used, but I got about 4 dozen cookies out of it.
3 stars

  A cookie baker in Baltimore, MD  Dec 10, 2004
Would make this again.
These are great! I will definitely keep this recipe. 5 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS