Christmas-Cookies.com

7 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of Chewy Cheesecake Cookies


6-15 of 18 reviews   << Previous - Next >>

  Andi in Vancouver, BC  Jun 27, 2011
Would make this again.
I modified the recipe a little, added an egg and some lemon juice (and m&m's!) Also baked a little longer in muffin tins. They turned out AWESOME. Would definately make these again. Brought them to work and they're a hit! 4 stars

  A cookie baker in Nor Cal  Mar 20, 2011
Would make this again.
Made these when I was young and they are always perfection. My daughters now make them and love them. A Christmas tradition 5 stars

  Dee in cincinnati,oh.  Dec 13, 2010
Would not make this again.
What am I doing wrong ?? I have done this recipe 2 times & the dough is too sticky to handle

  Cas in NYC  Sep 27, 2010
Would make this again.
And one crucial thing I forgot: since I started baking these as part of a care package for my college sophomore (she's not a nut fan) I brainstormed substitutions and was thinking "hmm... cheesecake... crust!"

Enough cornflakes to yield 2 cups crushed mixed with an additional 1/4C sugar. Mixed it right in and it gives it just the most interesting surprise bits of texture and flavor!
5 stars

  Cas in NYC  Sep 26, 2010
Would make this again.
I don't think this comes out AT all the way it should, but the results are better than I thought!

How on earth I was expected to "form balls" from a dough the consistency of thick buttercream is beyond me, so it became a drop cookie versus a rolled, but that's even easier, no?

And the spread was much more than desired so I wound up, with a 1 Tbsp. scoop, with a 4" cookie that was burning on the edges and raw in the middle.

SOLUTION: half as much (1.5 - 2 tsp.) of batter IN MUFFIN TIN CUPS. Uniform cookie and just the perfect size.

BONUS to doing it this way: it puffs and rises a bit, and climbs the muffin tin; on cooling it will deflate and if you leave it in the tin to cool they not only unmold very easily they are shaped like mini pie crusts -- not quite a cup but a small tart shell!

Go to town with your cheesecake fillings! Jams and preserves, fresh fruit or chocolate... I'm going to do a batch with jalapeno-apricot jelly.

NO MATTER HOW YOU MAKE THEM do give the dough about an hour to rest; the gluten develops and makes them much much easier to manage.
4 stars

  A cookie baker in Erie, PA  Dec 18, 2009
Would not make this again.
Will not make again. Cookies tasted like oil, and not at all like any type of cookie I have ever had. 2 stars

  Nancy in Woodinville, WA  Dec 14, 2007
Would make this again.
These cookies are delicious. I doubled the recipe and yielded 54 cookies. I took them to a holiday cookie exchange and the only issue with them was that they weren't very attractive looking. I also added white choc chips & craisins which was festive. Anybody have a tip on how to make them look nicer? 5 stars

  Margie in Texas  Dec 5, 2006
Would make this again.
This is a great basic recipe. I added white chocolate and cranberry for an extra special treat. 5 stars

  Sherry in St. Petersburg, FL  Nov 28, 2006
Would make this again.
These cookies are GREAT!!! Took them to a cookie exchange last Christmas and they were the hit of the day... I've been asked to bring them again this year. (Don't overbake them and they won't get too hard.) They are really easy to make and taste delicious! Sometimes simple is better... 5 stars

  Diana in BP  Sep 10, 2006
Would make this again.
I tried it. But they were so hard, eating them tires my jaw. I want to make them again cause it tastes nice but how do i not make it so hard? 3 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS