Christmas-Cookies.com

68 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of Salt Dough Ornaments

Salt Dough Ornaments	Opens photo in lightbox. Hit Escape or X to exit lightbox.

6-15 of 32 reviews   << Previous - Next >>

  FlaBrenda in Florida  Nov 30, 2013
Would make this again.
Amyjo!!you have to be just kidding!no way you ate them!! anyway,wonderful dough,perfect for making christmas tree ornaments.My kids loved it! 5 stars

  madison in tulsa ok  Oct 19, 2013
Would make this again.
Amyjo, they werent to eat! Made these with the kids i babysit. They loved it. We made halloween ones. 5 stars

  AmyJo in Tennessee  Sep 3, 2013
Would make this again.
I do NOT recommend these cookies, they taste horrible! 1 star

  Angie in Illinois  Dec 11, 2012
Would make this again.
Made these with my 5 and 9 year old daughters. They had a blast and it was easy to make. The cookie cutters made it easy for them to cut out shapes on their own. 5 stars

  Kerry in Charlotte  Nov 26, 2012
Would make this again.
This works wonderfully, and sooo easy, something you can really let your little ones get into and help with. The only thing is, the recipe should specify that you need to use regular flour and NOT self-rising flour. Using the self-rising flour results in the "puffing" of the ornaments. 5 stars

  pam in texas  Dec 21, 2011
Would make this again.
I found this recipe last night when looking for a quick idea to help my 9 yr old granddaughter make Christmas gifts. We did the baked version when her mom was little, and I was delighted to find this microwave option. Granddaughter reminded me to poke a hole (with a toothpick) for the cord BEFORE baking! I made the mistake of placing the cutout shapes on a thin plastic prep board to bake, and after only 20 seconds in the microwave, the salt and plastic began to burn and smoke! Switched to ceramic plate! Since we used small 1.5" cookie cutters, we placed 6 cookie shapes in a wide circle around the edge of the plate then adjusted baking time/temp to 1 minute on Power Level 8. The shapes puffed a little, but it gave them an interesting 3D appearance. The best part was very quick cooling so that we could get to the painting right away! Thanks for sharing this recipe! 5 stars

  A cookie baker  Nov 7, 2011
Would make this again.
To those who had trouble with the ornaments puffing up ... place cutouts on a microwave-safe plate and then place another microwave-safe plate on top of them. This keeps them beautifully flat and smooth for decorating. A great craft! 5 stars

  A cookie baker  Oct 30, 2011
Would make this again.
I had the same problem with mine puffing up in the microwave. Does anyone know what that happens to some but not others?

I'm trying to make a model of something and spent a lot of time working on the dimensions. The entire thing puffed up about half an inch but shrunk lengthwise about half an inch. I don't remember having this problem when i used to bake them.
5 stars

  A cookie baker in Kentucky  Oct 9, 2010
Would make this again.
I made Salt Dough ornaments when my daughter was 4 and lost the recipe after that. I made an impression of her little hand in the dough and carefully cut it out, made a hole in the top of the index finger with a straw and baked it. I painted it, lightly brushed it with gold leaf, and sealed it with acrylic spray sealer. It hangs on our tree every year in a place of honor near the top.
She may be grown, but I still love the feel of that little hand in my hand. Priceless!
5 stars

  G'Maddy in Colorado in Centennial CO  Nov 8, 2009
Would make this again.
I know this is a great recipe b/c I used the same one 33 years ago when my son, Lucas, was a child and now I am making ornaments with my Grand Daughter. I like the fact that now we use a microwave instead of the oven.
Merry Christmas everyone!
5 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS