Christmas-Cookies.com

69 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of Wacky Cake


6-15 of 16 reviews   << Previous - Next >>

  mj in minnesota  Nov 17, 2007
Would make this again.
I learned to make this in junior high,and have been making it ever since.This may not be the one for someone craving a lot of chocolate ,but it is very versatile for all diets.Those that like choc.,try using melted choc. chips with a little powdered sugar for frosting.Those who need less fat,leave plain.
This is a great recipe to keep on hand,as,we have all been caught off gaurd,with no treat or desert to make for those unexpected guests.It is very inexpensive,and most ingredients can be found in every kitchen.Very moist and delicious cake,and can be made in vanilla as well!
5 stars

  A cookie baker  Aug 12, 2007
Would make this again.
It's FABULOUS!!! I'm allergic to everything on the planet, and this not only fits my dietary needs, but it tastes good, too!!
A++++
5 stars

  A cookie baker in Fort Wayne, Indiana  Nov 20, 2006
Would not make this again.
My mother-in-law makes this. The only good thing about it is that it is very moist. I think it is otherwise very bland. I like rich chocolate. I would not recommend this to anyone. 2 stars

  kayla in qld  Nov 14, 2005
Would make this again.
the best thing ive ever tasted . and ive tasted a lot of yummy things . 5 stars

  Mrs. M  Dec 9, 2003
Would make this again.
I got this recipe myself when we lived in Connecticut in 1972, but from what I learned it's origins predate WW II to the depression era. Over the years I have replaced the oil w/applesauce, and cut the sugar with a sugar substitute designed for baking. 5 stars

  Tammy in Coopersburg, PA  Oct 25, 2003
Would make this again.
I have been making this cake for years. It is so easy. I always use leftover coffee instead of the water. Coffee seems to bring out the best in chocolate cakes. It is also a big hit at bake sales because you can bake in a disposable aluminum pan. My family likes frosting on it. I vary the taste by alternating flavors of frostings. I have used vanilla buttercream, chocolate, peanut butter, and cream cheese frostings. 5 stars

  Diana Sebzda in Lafayette, NJ  Dec 24, 2002
Would make this again.
Winner, winner, winner!!!! I love this recipe! It's moist, not too chocolatey and I love to tell the story behind the recipe. No one can believe that this cake has no eggs or milk. I'm on my third cake in one week. I did powdered sugar on the first cake, but it's so moist it soaked it up in 24 hours. The second cake I put caramel frosting on it with Christmas sprinkles and that was great. I forgot to double the recipe for a 9x13 pan and it still turned out great. In fact, people loved it because it looked thinner so they ate more. They said they didn't feel so guilty have more than one piece. I won't say who, but some had a lot more than one piece. :) 5 stars

  Karen in Belleville, ON  Dec 14, 2002
Would make this again.
We spell it Wakkie Cake. It is better with the melted shortening then with oil. It's the hit of every party and school bake sale I take it too. Enjoy 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Jeffersonville, IN  Dec 9, 2002
Would make this again.
I liked the cake a lot. It was tasty. Who made up the name?

(NOTE: We don't know! If anyone knows the source of this recipe, let us know.)
5 stars

  A cookie baker in Bolton, Ontario  Nov 30, 2002
Would make this again.
Great cake, very moist. Great for people with milk allergies. 5 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS