Christmas-Cookies.com

62 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of Buttercream Frosting

Buttercream Frosting	Opens photo in lightbox. Hit Escape or X to exit lightbox.

6-15 of 45 reviews   << Previous - Next >>

  A cookie baker  Dec 10, 2010
Would not make this again.
I made this with half shortening and half butter has someone suggested and it doesn't spread well at all :( 3 stars

  Cyndei in Spanaway  Nov 3, 2010
Would make this again.
I love this recipe for flooding the whole batch of sugar cookies in color then after that making the royal icing in white and drizzling it over the top of each one...a bit of extra work but they look great and that extra crunchy texture of the icing is fun too. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Newfoundland  Dec 7, 2009
Would not make this again.
I hated it it was disgusting.....it was too fatty tasting :( 1 star

  A cookie baker in Wisconsin  Dec 6, 2009
Would make this again.
I made this recipe today to frost sugar cookies. I used half butter and half shortening - it's really delicious! I added a little more cream (a total of 4 ounces, instead of 3). This made the frosting easier for the kids to spread without breaking the cookies. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Ohio  Oct 24, 2009
Would make this again.
This frosting is the bomb,i will definitely keep using this recipe,so creamy and just enough sweetness and good spreading consistency!!!! 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Ohio  Dec 26, 2008
Would not make this again.
This recipe is the traditional cake decorators icing from years ago. Unfortunately, those who prefer butter and natural flavors will NOT find this recipe appealing.

If you need a very stable frosting and will not have access to a refridgerator, use this recipe as is. If you need stability but prefer a more natural flavor, use 1/2 crisco and 1/2 real butter.

If you detest the taste of solid vegetable shortening and hydrogenated oil, skip it and use real butter exclusively. If you do, be sure to keep the cookies refridgerated, as their shelf life will be much shorter than had you used all solid veg. shortening.

GL.
3 stars

  latrisha in missouri dec.14,08 in missouri  Dec 14, 2008
Would make this again.
i tryed this recipe and i thought it was great.I have been looking for a good recipe and havent had any luck until i found this one.
thank you so much
5 stars

  Tammi in IL  Dec 7, 2008
Would make this again.
I made this for frosting sugar cookies and it's a very tasty recipe. The only thing I change a little was to use the half butter shortening and half real butter version. 5 stars

  Amy in Georgia  Dec 2, 2008
Would make this again.
This frosting was wonderful! I loved everything about it, perfectly creamy and sweet! I put these on the ultimate sugar cookies also from this site. I also used this frosting to make a little dog out of red velvet cupcakes on the same occasion. My husband and I placed second in the company baked off. I will be using this frosting again. 5 stars

  Tonya in Morgantown  Oct 18, 2008
Would make this again.
This a great recipe for icing that will set-up well. I just used it to make bowling ball cookies for my son's birthday. It was perfect. I can see where it might not be good for a whole cake, but it is very good for piping details. 5 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS