Christmas-Cookies.com

29 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of Russian Tea Cakes

Russian Tea Cakes	Opens photo in lightbox. Hit Escape or X to exit lightbox.

66-75 of 159 reviews   << Previous - Next >>

  cookie girl  Feb 20, 2009
Would make this again.
my friend made them they were so nice i hade to find the reciepe.i personly think the instructions could have been clearer but apart from that it was great!!!they turned out.............brill!!!!and everyone loved them.i would definetly show my friends this page and make them again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars

  Carl LeFong in Portland  Jan 8, 2009
Would make this again.
I see this recipe all the time and there are some important steps that are left out, first, if you really want success, chill the dough mixture for at least 4 hours before you roll into balls, and secondly, I find that finely chopped pecans makes all the difference on the world, no kidding, try it.
Oh, and put that mixer away, just mix with a wooden spoon, you must feel this recipe as well as taste it!!!!
5 stars

  A cookie baker  Dec 24, 2008
Would make this again.
These are also delicious when you putthem around a large hershey kiss. We call then russian surprise cookies! 5 stars

  A cookie baker  Dec 23, 2008
Would make this again.
My family has made these for generations. They make them slightly different; we take a walnut half and shape the dough around the nut before baking it. It has the effect of receiving a little surprise when you bite into it. 5 stars

  Nate in Chino Hills, CA  Dec 23, 2008
Would make this again.
I have made these before with the same recipe, except I am not a fan of walnuts. Our family uses chopped pecans. These are amazing and simple. 5 stars

  janet weiser in oregon  Dec 21, 2008
Would make this again.
These cookies have been a staple at Christmas in my family. My mother is no longer able to cook, so I am making them and shipping to her this season. Now my daughter is learning how to make them and asks for them each year 5 stars

   Dec 19, 2008
Would make this again.
I am planning on making these again. I'm not sure how much one batch makes because I have to make it for a Christmas Party. 5 stars

  Rebecca in FL  Dec 18, 2008
Would make this again.
This is a great basic recipe, but I have been trying to make these cookies a bit more. However, the recipe I usually use calls for toasting the nuts first, which I think gives the cookie a richer, nutier flavor. 4 stars

  Fran S. in Arlington, WA  Dec 14, 2008
Would make this again.
I have made this receipe before but I'm going to try Kayla in Indiana's suggestion about adding cinnamon. I love this spice but have never thought of using it in this receipe. I'm going to divide the dough and try it with and without the cinnamon 5 stars

  kate in New Jersey  Dec 13, 2008
Would make this again.
These cookies are a tradition in my house since my mother made them for me every christmas since I was small. Now that I have been making them now for 30 years. I love them!!!! 5 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS