Christmas-Cookies.com

62 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of Lemon Slice Cookies

Lemon Slice Cookies	Opens photo in lightbox. Hit Escape or X to exit lightbox.

6-15 of 15 reviews   << Previous

  A cookie baker in new york  May 20, 2010
Would make this again.
i love these cookies 5 stars

  Christmas Baker in California  Dec 1, 2009
Would make this again.
Very good cookie. Not at all dry as some have noted. You must refrigerate overnight. I've made them two Christmases running and will probably be in trouble if I don't make them again! 4 stars

  A cookie baker in nantucket  Aug 26, 2006
Would not make this again.
the texture of the biscuits was really crumbly and the were to dry 1 star

  theresa gates in Sheboygan falls WI  Nov 5, 2005
Would not make this again.
they where dry and small. not that good! 3 stars

  A cookie baker in Portland, OR  Jun 15, 2005
Would make this again.
Fabulous lemon cookies! Great lemon flavor and really simple to make: just remember they need to chill overnight.

I only needed 1 large lemon instead of 2-3. So, I have some left over for making these the second time. This is not a large recipe, so the yield in somewhat small but well worth it.

This was my first attempt at slice cookies and it caught my by surprise how dry the finished dough is. At first I thought I had made a mistake somewhere but then realized the dough comes together very well once you start to "mold" it into the log.

If you like real lemon flavor, I highly recommend this recipe. Give it a try, I think you'll like it!.
4 stars

  A cookie baker in seattle  Dec 15, 2004
Would not make this again.
The texture of the cookies was grainy and too crisp, maybe it was the extra sugar crystals on top. The flavor is really good though, but I will still look for another recipe that will be lighter and chewier. 3 stars

  A cookie baker in California  Dec 23, 2002
Would make this again.
These cookies were very easy and tasted great! I skipped the lemon zest
because I couldn't find my zester, and they *still* had a nice lemony taste.
Next time I think I'll double the recipe because it only makes about 4 doz. (Hint: you'll get more juice from your lemon if you microwave it for a minute before squeezing. I only used one lemon instead of the 2-3 called for, and I had juice left over.)
4 stars

  Regina in Houston  Dec 22, 2002
Would make this again.
WOW WOW WOW!!! These are wonderful! I wanted something to contrast all the nuts and chocolate in my other Christmas goodies, and this is it! They have just the right balance of tart and sweet. I would definitely recommend using a light colored pan (I lined mine with parchment paper) to keep them from browning on the bottom. I will definitely make these again. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Ashland , Pa.  Dec 16, 2002
Would make this again.
This is a WONDERFUL recipe! Great tasting and very easy to make. I also made this using different flavorings, like rum and cherry, and rolled the logs in crushed pecans. All the variations of this recipe came out just wonderful! This is a keeper in my recipe files. 5 stars

   Nov 30, 2002
Would make this again.
Very easy. Tangy and delicious. 5 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS