Christmas-Cookies.com

8 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of Springerle

Springerle Cookies.  Credit: Photos.com	Opens photo in lightbox. Hit Escape or X to exit lightbox.

6-15 of 23 reviews   << Previous - Next >>

  A cookie baker in Ohio  Dec 21, 2009
Would make this again.
I made this recipe to the letter. I used a heavy duty stand mixer that even became bogged down as I added the cake flour. I have no idea how my mother did this with a hand mixer when I was a child. I found that the dough was brick hard when I took it out of the refrigerator and thought I had done something wrong with the recipe. It crumbled as I worked and worked to roll it out. I ended up having to sprinkle with water to make it pliable enough to roll and press. Because of the dough I only got about 5 cookes out per rolling then had to rework and roll again so the process takes a long time, however the cookies turned out pretty well for my 1st attempt. Some rose very nicely and others were a bit flatter. I will continue to search for recipes that may work better. I had no idea there were so may other variations. Some with more eggs and using all purpose flour instead of cake. Maybe more eggs would help. It is the only wet ingredient in this recipe. 3 stars

  Ellen in Stuttgart,Germany  Dec 11, 2009
Would make this again.
I am a Schwob and make Springerle every year. Last year I could not get a hold of Hirschhornsalz and used Baking Powder, they came out great, nice "Fuesschen" and enjoyed by everyone here in Albuquerque 5 stars

  Anne in Ohio in ohio  Dec 9, 2009
Would make this again.
These are my favorite cookies. Been making for years as was my mom and grandmothers and so on back. The only thing I do different is when I set cookies out to dry I sprinkle anise seeds on towel and place cookies on them over night. The seeds are then inbedded on bottom and after baking store them for at least 2 weeks to absorb flavor. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in va  Nov 15, 2009
Would make this again.
sehr gut! 5 stars

  Claudia in California  Dec 23, 2008
Would make this again.
The receipe is good exept for the baking powder, it's supposed to be hartshorn (Hirschhornsalz). I only use Hirschhornsalz for my Springerle and I use old wooden molds. It's a very old swabian traditional christmas cookie. I let mine sit for at least 24 hours before I bake them and I also use apple slices to keep them moist in a tin can because they dry out quick and get VERY hard. 5 stars

  Jim in Ohio  Dec 22, 2008
Would make this again.
I've been making Springerle for 30 years after my mom made them for 40 years and my granmother for 40 more. I've used granulated sugar, no salt, no lemon zest. They are always hard, but microwaving for 15 seconds makes them soft for those unfamilar with the hard version. We've been sending these to college aged kids to get them through final exams for years! My aunt also made them and they were always very soft. She never told us her secret. Does anyone know how to make them as soft as sugar cookies? 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Michigan  Dec 20, 2008
Would make this again.
I've made these in the past and have always had the center of the cookie rise up thru the stamped pattern. I've dried them overnite and still have the problem. Any suggestions from anyone to rectify this problem? 5 stars

  Katie in Indiana  Dec 10, 2008
Would make this again.
Wonderful recipe. My mother's recipe was lost and this one is very very similar.
I think the oozing may have been a result of not drying on a 'floured' surface.
5 stars

  paul in phoenix  Dec 9, 2008
Would make this again.
Our family has been making springerles for 5 generations. They are made on the first Sunday of Decemeber, stored in tin containers until Christmas dinner and are just fine. A slice of apple will add moisture to the storage container and help keep the cookie moist. A more intense flavor will be obtained by using oil of anise. Secoondly, bakers ammonia is a superior agent, give it a try. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Schenectady, NY  Dec 5, 2008
Would make this again.
A well-loved family recipe. You can use anise extract instead of crushed anise seeds. The tops must dry overnight so that the pattern stamped on them stays intact. The top will rise up while baking - perhaps that is the 'oozing' someone mentioned. Will store in cookie tins for a long time. Great for dunking. 5 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS