Christmas-Cookies.com

29 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of Spitzbuben

Spitzbuben	Opens photo in lightbox. Hit Escape or X to exit lightbox.

16-25 of 25 reviews   << Previous

  Don in Columbus, Ohio  Nov 9, 2004
Would make this again.
This is very similar to my great-grandmother's recipe, we use more butter, never have the dryness problem. Also, try currant or cherry jelly. These have been one of our favorite Christmas cookie recipes for at least 5 generations! 5 stars

  Mumu in France  Dec 1, 2003
Would make this again.
These cookies are very good, but I had problem with the dough. It was too dry to roll out. So, I put a little bit of water in it (1 tablespoon). It works very well and the cookies are perfects!!! 4 stars

  Bernadette Wynne in Philadelphia, PA  Sep 12, 2003
Would make this again.
Mom substituted ground black walnuts or ground filberts instead of the blanched almonds. Awsome...with raspberry jelly. 5 stars

  Tiggs in West Mids, UK  Aug 5, 2003
Would not make this again.
I was really looking forward to making these. I followed the recipe, but the dough was so dry I had to add an egg to get it to roll out. Even then it was very difficult as the dough would break.
Quite disappointed.
2 stars

  susan Adams-Fisher in San Leandro, Ca  Dec 28, 2002
Would make this again.
I had almost given up finding this recipe. My German Mom always made these every Christmas and we lost her hanwritten cook book. Now I make these traditional cookies for my family and they love them. Only difference is that I/we use raspberry perserves in the center. Thank you 5 stars

  A cookie baker in sunny arizona  Dec 21, 2002
Would make this again.
We love these & have made this exact recipe for years.

I made them using melted semi-sweet chocolate chips in the middle instead of jam. I've tried it dusted with granulated sugar & with confect.sugar. I like them both ways, the granulated sugar tends to be sweeter.
5 stars

  A cookie baker in Germany  Dec 19, 2002
Would make this again.
Made these and other cookies,Shared with my friends and they said these were the best they ever had. Dipped in suger instead of Confectioner's sugar. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Santa Cruz Mountains  Dec 14, 2002
Would make this again.
I had my doubts about these cookies because, like typical shortbread, the dough was a little dry and crumbled easily. However, after the cookies baked, they were delectable. These were the number 1 hit cookie at my holiday party. Everyone raved about these bad boys. FYI, the cookies freeze well after baking. I baked the cookies last week, froze them and THEN I sandwiched the cookies on the day of the party. 5 stars

  A Swiss in New York in Switzerland  Nov 30, 2002
Would make this again.
While this recipe is good, the original Spitzbube cookie does not contain almonds - in my opinion they taste smoother without any nuts. Also, we cut out a small circle or star (or whatever shape cookie cutter you have) in the center of the "top cookie" so that you can see the jam. Dusting the cookie with confectioners sugar increases this effect. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Illinois  Nov 29, 2002
Would make this again.
This is the best cookie I have ever made. They don't last long on the plate and I must rememeber to triple this recipe. I make them also without the jam but just a single cutout cookie with icing, they have a fantastic taste. 5 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS