Christmas-Cookies.com

33 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of Bizcochitos

Bizcochitos	Opens photo in lightbox. Hit Escape or X to exit lightbox.

16-25 of 28 reviews   << Previous - Next >>

  A cookie baker in New Mexico  Dec 13, 2004
Would make this again.
My family uses lard instead of shortening and brandy instead of wine. The lard makes the cookies flaky and mmmmmmm,mmmmmm, good! 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Las Vegas,NV  Dec 8, 2004
Would make this again.
Our family has made these cookies for the last 40 years for christmas.You may also use a concord grape wine(this is also sweet), instead of a sweet white wine.The grape wine gives the anise seeds a great flavor to compliment the cookie. 5 stars

  Spanish cookies rock in New York  Dec 4, 2004
Would make this again.
I have made these for my spanish classes for the past ten years on holidays. As long as you like anise, everyone loves these. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in New Mexico  Apr 16, 2004
Would make this again.
My family is from New Mexico and we traditionally make these cookies for weddings as well as Christmas.Our family recipe has a note to crush the anise seed before adding it to the wine. Also traditionally, lard is used instead of shortening, and the cookies are dipped in cinnamon sugar while still warm. You will find the cookies melt in your mouth if made this way. 5 stars

  Elena in Albuquerque, NM  Jan 15, 2004
Would make this again.
I actually used 3/4 cup of vegetable shortening, it's makes the cookies a bit more flakier. =o) 5 stars

  A cookie baker in New York  Dec 9, 2003
Would make this again.
Bizcochitos are awesome. I have seen other recipes where wine is substituted with orange juice (which I prefer) but they are really easy to make any time of the year. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Denver, CO  Dec 3, 2003
Would make this again.
My mother and Grandmother have made these cookies for years.They either use brandy or whiskey instead of wine.I still enjoy making these cookies, even if it is not Christmas. Thanks 5 stars

  Randy in New Mexico - Albuquerque  Nov 7, 2003
Would make this again.
I grew up with these cookies and when I was older and moved away from Mom - I always enjoyed making these cookies for Christmas - A variation to the recipe that I use is Brandy instead of wine and I also use Powder eggs instead of fresh eggs - It makes the cookies Fluffy, and they melt in your mouth. 5 stars

  Jeff in CA  Dec 22, 2002
Would make this again.
Bizcochitos are awsome. You could use brandy in place of the wine it gives them more of a kick. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Arizona  Dec 20, 2002
Would make this again.
great cookies, very easy to make and smell wonderful in the oven.
I would definately give this out to friends and family to use .
I even sprinkled some color sugar on the top to make them look more like xmas cookies . They really do have a taste all of their own. Merry xmas to all and enjoy these great cookies . Lisa
5 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS