Christmas-Cookies.com

7 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of Luscious Apricot Bars


6-14 of 14 reviews   << Previous

  paul shanley in rhode island  Jun 8, 2008
Would make this again.
My brother Brian and I made these and they are really good. You feel like you are getting something healthy with something so very yummy. 5 stars

  brian shanley in rhode island  Jun 8, 2008
Would make this again.
I made this recipe and found it easy to follow as well as delicious.

Finding it was truly an act of divine providence. I think my sister Kath will like them too.

Brian Shanley
5 stars

  making mom's cookies in chicago, IL  Nov 29, 2007
Would make this again.
My mom and I make these every year. After cutting them into bars we roll them in powdered sugar - helps with the appearance. Sometimes it takes longer than 30 minutes for the apricot layer to cook. 5 stars

  Mark Streeter in Tampa, FL  Dec 23, 2003
Would not make this again.
I made these today for Christmas and was terribly disappointed. Not only are they syrupy sweet and greasy, but they are very unattractive. I couldn't help but think that something was missing or incorrect about the recipe itself. 1 star

  A cookie baker in Santa Rosa CA  Dec 15, 2003
Would make this again.
The recipe has a wording problem that makes it unclear when to add the apricots. In the 1st paragraph it says "Mix with following using fork" which makes it sound like the apricots go into the crust mixture; down below, you see that the apricots are actually added into the egg mixture. The first paragraph should say, "mix the following" (to make the crust-like base). 5 stars

   Mar 10, 2003
Would make this again.
These are great. I would probably reduce the brown sugar and possible use light brown sugar. Although these were great, I couldn't taste the apricots. The dough is really great. 4 stars

  Mark Weber in Nashville, Tn  Dec 22, 2002
Would make this again.
An interesting variation that I learned from my grandmother:
Bake the first layer and then spread a cup of apricot preserves--warming it in the microwave makes it easier to spread-over that baked layer and sprinkle it with the half cup of chopped walnuts. Then mix the 2nd layer of dough, omitting the dried apricot mixture, and bake as described. They truely are incredibly great bars!!!
5 stars

  A cookie baker in Illinois  Dec 13, 2002
Would make this again.
Love apricots, love these bars, easy to make and so good. I will be making them again before Christmas. Thanks 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Colorado  Dec 5, 2002
Would make this again.
These bars are wonderful. The tart/sweet flavor of the Apricots are accentuated when baked. For best results use dehydrated apricots and boil them in water for a couple of minutes. You can also eliminate the nuts if you do not like nuts. Yummy 5 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS