Christmas-Cookies.com

62 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of Ladylocks


1-10 of 10 reviews  

  Mary  Feb 3, 2014
Would make this again.
Just read other reviews. Good question from a cookie baker, Written Aug 6 2010.
Would like to know answer also.
5 stars

  Emily in Pennsylvania  Dec 22, 2010
Would make this again.
Question. Is there a good way to store the cookies for a period of time (a week) without them going stale or soggy? I'm holding off on filling them so the filling is fresh but the shells are losing their crispiness... :( 5 stars

  Jacque in Pitt.'s Pa  Aug 6, 2010
Would make this again.
Use Butter Crisco and you don't need the yellow food color and it give's them a little better taste.My Mom and me bake them a couple time's a year they are my favorite. 5 stars

  A cookie baker  Aug 3, 2010
Would make this again.
I would like to make this but I do not understand spread the shortening? How much shortening? What do you spread it with? 5 stars

  A cookie baker  Dec 27, 2008
Would make this again.
this is a great recipe my mother-in-law made these and past it on to me and the daughter-in-laws it is my 14 year olds favorite cookie i tried not to make it this year and here it is 12-27 and i am making now for him guess they don't forget a cookie this good 5 stars

  Bernadine Dally in Pittsburgh, PA  Dec 23, 2008
Would make this again.
I got this recipe out of a Sunday paper back in the 70's. Misplaced my recipe.Glad I found this one. It has the same ingredients as the one I misplaced except for the yellow food coloring. I love this recipe. Give it 5 stars.In the filling above you omitted the sugar. Here's my filling recipe.
2 T (Tablespoon) flour
1/2 C(Cup) milk
1/4 C(cup) shortening
1/2 C(cup) sugar
1 t(teaspoon) vanilla
Mix flour and milk in sauce pan.Cook over low heat until thick. Put in saucer and cool. Cream butter and shortening 4 min. with electric mixer. Add sugar gradually and beat 4 min. Add flour paste and beat 4 min. Add vanilla and blend. In addition to the vanilla you can add any flavoring and color to suit your taste.

RESPONSE: Thanks for the great filling recipe! Our filling recipe hasn't omitted the sugar, though. It uses marshmallow creme instead.
5 stars

  A cookie baker  Nov 29, 2005
Would make this again.
Great recipe. This is the old-fashioned one that gives the flakiness that the newer recipes that substitute sour cream for the layering/refrigerating process do not retain. They are faster, but not nearly as good.Thanks for sharing!!! 5 stars

  judy stamer in Middleburg Fl.  Nov 15, 2005
Would make this again.
I grew up eating these at weddings in Pittsburg Pa. They were always a staple at a wedding. I love the idea of the yellow food coloring it gives the cookies a great amber look. To make it go faster I used dowel rods the thickness of a dime,about 10 inches long. This way you can place about four on a stick, don't forget to foil the dowels and grease them. 5 stars

  Jamie Coleman in Lemont Furnace, Pa.  Dec 16, 2002
Would make this again.
I have been looking everywhere for a recipe that was different from all the others and I have finally found it. I love the filling. Everywhere I look I am unable to find one that has a good filling and this is the one that beats them all. Thanks Alot! Jamie 5 stars

  Robert Schmidt in Wagram, NC  Nov 17, 2002
Would make this again.
When I was a kid, my grandmother made these every Christmas. But, when she died I never got the recipe from her. Now I'm a chef, and I looked all over the Internet for hours. Thanks...I love them! 5 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS