Christmas-Cookies.com

34 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of The Original Nanaimo Bar

The Original Nanaimo Bar	Opens photo in lightbox. Hit Escape or X to exit lightbox.

46-55 of 67 reviews   << Previous - Next >>

  Odell in Chilliwack B.C.  Nov 21, 2008
Would make this again.
I have made nanaimo bars since 1956. The recipe I use used to be right on the Bird's Custard can. It wouldn't be Christmas in our house without them. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Canada  Nov 20, 2008
Would make this again.
Score bars befor chocolate is completely set, then when set, use very sharp knife dipped in boiling hot water to prevent cracking. I make this often because they have no lasting qualities at our house. 5 stars

  julia in near Paris,France  Oct 21, 2008
Would make this again.
I've searched for twenty years to duplicate the bars made a neighbor. I've finally found it!!
note to heather: score the chocolate with a toothpick after it has set a bit then cut completely once it has set.
5 stars

  Heather in British Columbia  Sep 11, 2008
Would make this again.
Doesn't anyone have a problem with cutting the bars?? Too hard and the top cracks, too soft and the middle squishes out. 4 stars

  Heather in British Columbia  Sep 9, 2008
Would make this again.
Taste is great but how do you cut them without making a mess? If they are too soft, the middle squishes out, if they are too hard, the chocolate cracks.
Also had a problem evenly spreading the chocolate layer.
4 stars

  A cookie baker in Newfoundland, Canada  Dec 21, 2007
Would make this again.
This is an amazing recipe! Previously I used a package (I know!) and now I realize what I have been missing ! These are soooo yummy I have made 4 batches for Christmas baking because they are getting gobbled up so fast!!! You can't be dissapointed with this recipe that is for sure. 5 stars

  carol huston in wpg, mb  Dec 12, 2007
Would make this again.
best and easiest bar I have ever made everyone enjoyed them!! 5 stars

  Larry in Langley, BC  Dec 12, 2007
Would make this again.
I have been making this every Christmas for years to great reviews from friends and family. However, in my version I have modified the receipe slightly for the Christmas season. I add 1/2 tsp mint flavoring and about 12-14 drops of green food coloring to the custard layer. Then, after the chocolate layer is on and started to set I lightly score the lines I will cut and add half a marachino or glaced cherry to the center of each bar. Then cool as usual. 5 stars

  Joline Cosman in Vermont  Dec 7, 2007
Would make this again.
Can't wait to make these old favorites!
The BIRDS CUSTARD POWDER is available on AMAZON.com!!! Also-- about this website...would be nice if there was a way to print JUST THE RECIPE!!!! Mine came out in 5 pages when one would do.
Yikes! Also- don't have a scale..... back to Amazon I guess.....

RESPONSE: Click on the "Print Recipe" link to the right of the page.

  Dilys Poole in London England  Sep 27, 2007
Would make this again.
added to my previous comments: the original receipe called for Bird's Eye custard powder and Fry's cocoa, and walnuts (not almonds) I do not believe the receipe came from the Klondike or they would be called Klondike bars! 5 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS