Christmas-Cookies.com

66 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of The Original Nanaimo Bar

The Original Nanaimo Bar	Opens photo in lightbox. Hit Escape or X to exit lightbox.

36-45 of 67 reviews   << Previous - Next >>

  A cookie baker in California  Dec 18, 2009
Would make this again.
My sister is coming from the Canadian Yukon for Christmas with us in California and the only gift I asked her to bring is a replacement can of Bird's Custard Powder so I can fill all the requests for Nanaimo Bars again this Holiday Season! Canadian born, I've been making rich and delicious Nanaimo Bars for at least 50 years and love them still! On a scale of 1-5, I give them a 6 using the recipe on the Bird's can. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in NC  Dec 15, 2009
Would make this again.
These cookies are almost like candy..very sweet and pretty good. I found the Custard powder in a specialty store and decided to try these. I can see why so many make them year after year. 4 stars

  A cookie baker in Ohio  Dec 2, 2009
Would make this again.
A big hit at work. 5 stars

  chase in canada  Dec 1, 2009
Would make this again.
im canadian but i live in the us, and trust me, these are one of my favorite snacks! 5 stars

  A cookie baker  Nov 25, 2009
Would make this again.
I add peppermint flavouring and green food colouring to the 2nd layer. They are very pretty on a tray of sweets for Christmas, and everyone loves the flavour of the chocolate and mint together. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in California  Nov 23, 2009
Would make this again.
To the previous poster - yes, vanilla pudding powder works. I usually use walnuts instead of almonds too in the first layer. This is a fabulous treat! 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Boston,MA  Oct 24, 2009
Would make this again.
I have been making these since the 1960's when I lived in Canada. I began to skip the 3rd layer because it was often messy: the two - layer version has become a family favorite. 5 stars

  Kim in Wisconsin  Dec 10, 2008
Would make this again.
My Grandmother always made these at Christmas time,however, she called them New York Squares. I lve in a small town - No Bird's Custard available. Would vanilla pudding work instead??

Response: Try the Napoleon Creams recipe instead.
5 stars

  Debbie in Trenton Ontario canada  Dec 8, 2008
Would make this again.
I melted dark chocolate chips this year and easier to cut. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Flagstaff AZ  Dec 7, 2008
Would make this again.
I score into small pieces before refrigerating and if the chocolate cracks slightly I lightly dust with 10X sugar to camouflage the cracks. 5 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS