Christmas-Cookies.com

65 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of The Original Nanaimo Bar

The Original Nanaimo Bar	Opens photo in lightbox. Hit Escape or X to exit lightbox.

6-15 of 67 reviews   << Previous - Next >>

  The Elder  Oct 23, 2014
Would not make this again.
These tasted delicious, but the filling never set. It was very loose and it was impossible to cut them into squares without squishing the filling out everywhere. Yes, the recipe was followed to a T and there were no substitutions made.

I couldn't in good faith give only one star, because they did taste delicious. I'd make them again if I knew why the filling would not set up.
2 stars

  A cookie baker in British Columbia  Jun 5, 2014
Would make this again.
Amazing Desert 5 stars

  Kathy in Currently, Vancouver Island, but grew up on East Coast  Nov 22, 2013
Would make this again.
My mother and her friends always made these at Christmas. It was my all time favourite. Infact,one Christmas will our family was visiting friends,my mother commented that I would never guess what was for dessert. Of course, I knew that if it was so good that it must be Nanaimo bars -- and I said so! 5 stars

  Cyndy in Wisconsin  Nov 13, 2013
Would make this again.
These used to be in the Electric Company Cookie Book in Milwaukee when I was a child...called Vanilla Cream Bars. My all-time favorite! 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Oregon  Oct 25, 2013
Would make this again.
I went to Nanaimo 30 years ago and purchased the different flavored bars they had in the shop. I fell in love with them. Later, I met someone with the recipe and was sworn to secretly. So glad it's out now. 5 stars

  sis in california  Oct 7, 2013
Would make this again.
You can get birds custard powder on Amazon. 5 stars

  jerome davis in lacey wash.  Aug 18, 2013
Would make this again.
love them 5 stars

  Richard in Texas (married to a cannuck)  Mar 2, 2013
Would make this again.
Loved these from day one. I've got everyone from my work hooked on them too. 5 stars

  Rise in Seattle  Dec 21, 2012
Would make this again.
I've been making these since I got the original recipe back in the 1960's. They are still my favorite Christmas cookie! 5 stars

  Megan in BC  Jul 1, 2011
Would make this again.
Did you credit the city of Nanaimo website and Joyce Hardcastle where this recipe comes from originally? 5 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS