Christmas-Cookies.com

9 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of Melomakarona


6-15 of 15 reviews   << Previous

  Bella in AUS  Nov 24, 2010
Would make this again.
this is soooo coool :) 5 stars

  jocelyn in new mexico  Sep 5, 2010
Would make this again.
well for a history project last year we we had to pick a country and do a project on it and i picked greece and if we made food we got extra credit so i made these and EVERYONE loved them! 4 stars

  mcb#2  Dec 2, 2009
Would make this again.
this is the best thing ever the people i now are makeing it for christmas 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Adelaide, South Australia  Jan 24, 2009
Would make this again.
I tried this recipe and made a couple of substitutions: I used about 1/4 cup of extra virgin olive oil instead of 1/4 cup of butter, and I used a few drops of brandy essence instead of the whiskey. The result was absolutely sensational! It's exactly like the ones that I have bought from the Greek food store at the market. Thanks so much for sharing this excellent recipe. 4 stars

  Nefeli in Greece  Dec 6, 2008
Would make this again.
Im a student in Sweden and pretty much useless when it comes to cooking! I was very impressed that i actually made this and it was tasty too! This is excellent! 5 stars

  sam in cali  Dec 14, 2007
Would make this again.
the most DELICIOUS cookie you could ever make. theyre all gone within 15 minutes when i bring them to holiday parties! 5 stars

  Lena and Yannis in Greece  Dec 16, 2006
Would make this again.
Hello, we are a young Greek couple leaving in the UK and every Christmas we make melomakarona. Usually there's something missing or the recipe is not sucessful. We tried your recipe for the first time tonight (15/12/06) and it is perfect. It didn't take a lot of time, we did not make a mess, nor did we have to "experiment" with the amount of flour, something which usually happens to us because the dough gets sticky.
The taste is excellent and we are really pleased! We'll surely make it again.
5 stars

  A cookie baker in Vienna, VA  Jan 4, 2005
Would make this again.
My husband is Greek and after 12 years of marriage and 5 different recipes, he proclaimed this one "perfect". The search is over, this is now a permanent addition to my Christmas repetoire.

I used brandy instead of whiskey, and soaked the cookies a little longer (about 30 seconds or until they seemed to have absorbed a little syrup). Also, I drizzled a little extra syrup on top of the cookies after sprinkling the walnuts on -- this helps them adhere to the cookie, then dusted with cinnamon.
5 stars

  Tina Anastasakis in Kefalonia, Greece  Dec 23, 2003
Would make this again.
This is an excellent recipe and easy to prepare. They were a big hit at my last party. I would definetely make them again. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Toronto, Canada  Mar 7, 2003
Would make this again.
This is a great authentic recipe - simple to prepare and decadent. My inlaws are Greek (from Athens) and they were unanimously impressed. I made 9 dozen at Christmas and all were consumed. I would DEFINITELY make these again, probably for Greek Easter. 5 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS