Christmas-Cookies.com

31 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of Easy Clothespin Cookies


16-25 of 41 reviews   << Previous - Next >>

  Patty in Pittsburgh  Nov 17, 2009
Would make this again.
My mother gave me a box of cookie forms that she had found at gramajoanscookieforms.com and the recipe on the back of the box was very time consuming so I never tried them. But since finding this recipe, clothespin cookies are now easier than ever and I made a batch for a graduation and got excellent comments! 5 stars

  Linda in Ohio  Nov 9, 2009
Would make this again.
Would make this again.
I made these for my boyfriend after hearing him rave about a former neighbor making these for him when he was little. He loved them, and so did my family. They are time consuming and a little messy to make, but worth the effort.
4 stars

  debbie in monongahela, pa  Dec 20, 2008
Would make this again.
Love this recipe!!! This is my 2nd. year making these. Husband cut 1/2" dia. dowel rods into 3 1/2" pieces. I wrapped them with non-stick foil and every one slipped right off. Sure, it takes time, but is so worth the effort. I'll never spend $5/doz. at a bakery again. Family loves piping the filling and sifting the confec. sugar. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in ohio  Dec 13, 2008
Would make this again.
I thought this was a easy & great recipe & for sure I will make them again!!I had aluminum forms that made it so easy/they slid right off the forms. I used parchment paper on the bottom of the cookie sheets. I found out that after you turn the heat down (after the 5 minutes) that they only need to bake for about 7 more minutes. I only broke a few/I would have had 144! 5 stars

  Deb in Southern Illinois  Dec 6, 2008
Would make this again.
I have been searching for this recipe. I used a cottage cheese filling this sound much better. I used the clothespin method and it worked great 5 stars

  Angel in Ohio  Dec 5, 2008
Would make this again.
Love these cookies!! It took me about 6 hrs total to make the whole batch. (A few hours here a few hours there) I made them for a cookie exchange and had several ladies ask for the recipe. I also used a dowel rod that I greased as my form. DELICIOUS! 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Ohio  Dec 5, 2008
Would not make this again.
Sorry, folks. I wouldn't try this again. Now I know why bakeries charge so much for clothespin cookies!! Luckily, I only thawed one package of puff pastry for starters. I used foil wrapped dowels (per a reviewer's suggestion) but 18" was way too long for even my largest baking sheet. I had trouble getting the pastry strips to stick together (even when moistening with water). Once baked, most came unraveled. I aborted the project, never making the filling. We'll use the baked pastry with Chicken a 'la King for supper; and I'll visit the bakery a day or two before Christmas and purchase some clothespin cookies! 1 star

  A cookie baker in Ohio  Sep 3, 2008
Would make this again.
These cookies are much more fun to make with friends! Very labor intensive, but worth the work. These are reminiscent of cookies my Aunt used to make for our Italian family weddings! She took her "from scratch" recipe to heaven with her, so it was wonderful to find an easier way to make them. This is a special cookie that I save for special occasions. The first time I made these, I used clothspins and had a horrible time getting the cookies off the clothspins as the pins opened up with use. (Although the puff pastry scraps were wonderful as topping on a casserole!) Now I use wooden dowels. I took twelve, 3 foot, 1/2 inch wooden dowels and cut them in half. This results in 24, 18 inch dowels. Six fit perfectly on a half sheet baking pan the long way. I bake 2 sheets at a time, rotating the sheets when I turn the temperature down. The extra dowels allow you to work with one set, while the other is baking or cooling off. Placing the extra dowels in the freezer speeds this up also. I then wrapped the dowels with non-stick foil. You can fit 4 or 5 cookies per dowel. I wash the dowels with the foil on them after use, allow them to dry and store in a sealed plastic bag for the next time. I also substituted 1 cup butter for 1 cup of the crisco in my filling. I usually end up with about 200 cookies per recipe. I always sprinkle each layer of the cookies with sifted powder sugar as I am placing them in the storage container. I then freshen up with more powdered sugar when I plate them if needed. These also freeze very well. I use press and seal plastic wrap on the container, then the lid before placing in the freezer. I have frozen these cookies for as long as 8 months and they tasted wonderful! 5 stars

  A Cookie Baker in Ohio  May 18, 2008
Would make this again.
I made this recipe this weekend for a wedding that I was helping to cater. The cookies turned out beautifully - they got rave reviews from the bridal party and guests! I used 1/2" wooden dowel rods that I sanded, scrubbed and then coated very heavily with Crisco before baking and was able to fit 7 cookies on each dowel - 4 dowels/tray. It worked well and plan to save the dowels to use again! They are time consuming to make (it took me 5 hours from start to finish), but WELL worth the effort! My yield was 20 dozen servable cookies. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in IND  Dec 15, 2007
Would make this again.
super easy 5 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS