AS

Christmas-Cookies.com

62 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

Reviews of Easy Clothespin Cookies


6-15 of 39 reviews   << Previous - Next >>

  Eileen  Dec 10, 2011
Would make this again.
I made your filling with homemade puff pastry for my very first ladylocks. I used dowel rods and greased them once with shortening. The cookies slid off very nicely. My son said they are the best cookies I have ever made. Thank you for a great recipe! I will definitely be making these again. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Dubois, PA  Dec 2, 2011
Would make this again.
My Cousin used to make these but it was so much harder (usually the first batch got thrown out). This is sooooo easy and great tasting. My family loves them. My husband cut dial rods for me and I covered them in tin foil. The filling is the best I've ever tasted. 5 stars

  Amy in Ohio  Oct 6, 2011
Would make this again.
I cannot say exactly how many of these I made from the recipe but I will say they were the best cookies I have ever made. My family insists this be the first cookie I make for Christmas.

I have a curious question for all you experienced bakers. Instead of forming the dough around the close pins or forms, do you think you could possibly cut the dough into squares, bake it and then when cool split open and spread the filling on like a sandwich cookie. This would save so much time.

I think I'm going to try it this year but I was curious if anyone has tried it before me.
5 stars

  Tammy Wagner in Fort Wayne, IN  Dec 3, 2010
Would make this again.
I made 3 different fillings before coming across this recipe, and none of them worked. This one was awesome! I also used the pepperidge farm pastries, and they worked perfect. This recipe was by far the easiest to follow (but you wouldn't know it from tasting these cookies) 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Ellwood City PA  Dec 3, 2010
Would make this again.
Thank you for suggestions! I am so happy to find people who knew how to use the puff pastry to make them, since it was suggested but never heard directions. I found clothes pins at my local Trader Horn store,fortunately they were on sale so bonus for me! How long do you have to bake them before use? 5 stars

  mrsnurse in PA in DuBois, PA  Apr 19, 2010
Would make this again.
I made these today for the second time and think the recipe is great - although time-consuming, they are easy. I had a total of 216 cookies. I'd like to pass along some tips that made this time much easier than the first time. First I baked them @ 400 degrees for 11-12 minutes....I didn't want to have to adjust the temperature so often. I used 1/2 inch dowel rods and cut them the length of the cookie sheets I was using and then wrapped each one in Non-stick aluminum foil (7-8 cookies fit on each rod.) What a difference that makes in getting the hot cookies off the rods without breaking them. I also used water to seal the exposed ends so that they didn't pop up while baking. I will be adding this to my list of favorite cookies to bake - and to eat! Again thanks for a great recipe! 5 stars

  A cookie baker in London, Ontario  Dec 16, 2009
Would make this again.
So good! I don't know anyone that doesn't like these. I use the wooden dowels wrapped in aluminum foil (thanks for the tip!) Although a bit time consuming, they are worth every minute. YUM! 5 stars

  Sandi in PA  Nov 19, 2009
Would make this again.
Thanks for helping me bring back my most favorite cookie ever!
I made this same recipe or one very similar every Christmas years ago, then I somehow managed to lose the recipe during a move so I haven't made them for a while. I was so glad to find the recipe again during a search.
My Christmas touch to these was always to split my filling in three and add some Red food coloring for 1/3,Green for 1/3 & 1/3 left white,making beautifully tinted pink & light green filling, to the white I would sprinkle a bit of Colored Sugar (Red & Green) on the ends of the cream filling! It made for a Beautiful festive Christmas cookie tray as well as delicious!
I always used clothespins before I inherited the straight cannoni metal tubes not cones and they worked just fine. They somehow also managed to disappear so it's back to the clothespins.
The clothespins are hard to find these days, you have to get them at a craft store like Michaels and I believe they are called doll making pins, if you search for clothespins.. nada.
You have to prepare them by baking the clothespins in a hot oven for a while before the first use so they don't spread during the cookie baking, and I also spray them with the butter flavored Pam before adding the Pastry!
To cut the expense (since the puff pastry is expensive and the recipe makes so many) you wouldn't have to buy 3 boxes,you just go with one and then just cut the filling recipe in half or third.You'd probably yield at least 6-7 dozen.
Mery Christmas to all and to all Happy Cookie baking!
5 stars

  Patty in Pittsburgh  Nov 17, 2009
Would make this again.
My mother gave me a box of cookie forms that she had found at gramajoanscookieforms.com and the recipe on the back of the box was very time consuming so I never tried them. But since finding this recipe, clothespin cookies are now easier than ever and I made a batch for a graduation and got excellent comments! 5 stars

  Linda in Ohio  Nov 9, 2009
Would make this again.
Would make this again.
I made these for my boyfriend after hearing him rave about a former neighbor making these for him when he was little. He loved them, and so did my family. They are time consuming and a little messy to make, but worth the effort.
4 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS