Christmas-Cookies.com

67 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of Galettes

Galettes	Opens photo in lightbox. Hit Escape or X to exit lightbox.

6-15 of 30 reviews   << Previous - Next >>

  Lea in Charlotte NC  Jul 18, 2012
Would make this again.
I started making these cookies in the 70's when I was a member of the Jayceettes for a money maker. We started using a gallette iron but we ended up using a waffle maker which works fine. My recipe is 1 pd real butter,2 cups white sugar 2 cups brown sugar,12 eggs,approximately 5 to 6 cups of flour. I throw the eggs in a blender, melt the butter and throw it all together. The ingredient I feel that makes them really good is Butternut Vanilla Flavoring add to your own taste. I use a lot. My 3 sons love these cookies, I just made them when we All got together in July. 5 stars

  Betsy in Manassas VA  Dec 24, 2011
Would make this again.
My mother made galettes every year while I was growing up just has her grandfather had made. Now I make them each December. However, the recipe I was raised with and used is simply -- 1 lb butter; 1 lb sugar; 1 lb eggs; and 1 lb flour. I measure with a kitchen scale (and usually use margarine instead). My friend anxiously await their holiday treat from me. 5 stars

  Arline in New Jersey  Dec 13, 2011
Would make this again.
I grew up making these with my Mom. My children start asking for them the begininng of December. The recipe she taught me is pretty much the same. I use less sugar, 1 cup of white and 1 cup of brown. Also, we don't use a rum flavoring, we use dark rum. We never had the right iron so we used a regular waffle iron. They come out a little thick but, still tast good. 5 stars

  Mary Ann in FL  May 31, 2011
Would make this again.
When I was a little girl growing up in WVA my aunt would send a box to us every Christmas. In the box there was usually a cookie tin and we knew right away she had made our favorite cookies that we called Gaufrettes. I cannot tell you how delicious these were. I still remember them to this day. I would love to find an iron and attempt to make these for my grandchildren. 5 stars

  Michelle Dumont in South Charleston, WV  Dec 17, 2010
Would make this again.
My grandfather was a Belgian immigrant and glassmaker in South Charleston, WV. We have made these cookies for years and have a few of the original irons floating around the family but I have yet to find an electric iron that is of the correct thickness to make these cookies - which my mom still makes two at a time every Christmas. The pizzelle irons make too thin of a cookie - does anyone know if the Palmer iron listed on fantes.com makes the correct thickness of a cookie? Also am looking for a recipe for some kind of Belgian green soup that my father - who is now 86 - raves about. If any of the old Belgian families out there know what I am talking about I would love to have the recipe - merci, and bonne noel! 5 stars

  Cheryl in Cecil PA, now Pittsburgh  Dec 16, 2010
Would make this again.
This is the recipe my mom and aunts used:
2 lbs butter or margarine
2 lbs. brown sugar (I use 1 lb. light brown and 1 lb dark brown)
12 egg YOLKS
1 cup canned milk (not Eagle Brand)
1 t. vanilla
3 lbs (12 cups) flour
1 t. baking powder

blend margarine and sugar in large bowl with electric mixer. Beat in egg yolks and canned milk and vanilla.
Add flour and baking powder and mix into a dough with hands.
You know what to do after that!

  J in Bluffton SC  Dec 15, 2010
Would make this again.
Use a waffle iron, we have for many years. The pizelle maker makes pizelles which are much thinner. 5 stars

  Barbara in Pennsylvania  Dec 15, 2010
Would make this again.
My grandmother (from Belgium) taught me to make Gallettes when I was a young girl. I have been making them ever since. I have two original irons, one small weave and the other large weave. I found a store in West Newton, Pa that made electric irons. I bought two of them several years ago and tried to buy another set just recently, but can't locate them. Does anyone know where to buy the electric Belgian Gallette Irons?
Also, I have had trouble with the dough sepatating.(I roll the dough before putting it into the irons.)Has anyone had that problem and how do you correct it????? My recipe is very different from the ones I have seen. It makes 20 t0 24 dozen regular size cookies and I only make them at Christmas. My son now mixes the and I bake them. We are teaching my grandson how to make them, so they can be passed on in the family.
Family Belgian names are Gobert, Demoulin, College, and Grosfils.

RESPONSE: You can find electric Galette irons at Fantes. The way their website is, it's hard to link to a specific product, so from that page scroll down to the Palmer Electric Belgian Cookie Iron.
5 stars

  Roger in Pennsylvania  Dec 10, 2010
Would make this again.
I am keeping my grandmothers tradition going by making these cookies each year at Christmas. One tip if you are using a galette iron - heat it for about an hour before using. My kids love these cookies and they only get them at Christmas. Can't wait to see how the grandkids like them. 5 stars

  Elizabeth in Indiana  Dec 9, 2010
Would make this again.
Mary from WV, my family is from Belgium too and my great great grandmother Lena Lechien's brother Jules moved to WV--is he your ancestor as well?! I am going to try the Galettes this Christmas! I have my great grandmother's recipe and I was comparing it to online recipes to see what might be the same or different. If you are a descendant of Jules Lechien I would love to talk to you!! Can't wait to make these; I have fond, fond memories of them!

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS