Christmas-Cookies.com

62 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of Frogs

Frogs	Opens photo in lightbox. Hit Escape or X to exit lightbox.

36-45 of 96 reviews   << Previous - Next >>

  Colleen in North Carolina  Jan 3, 2009
Would make this again.
Will definitely make this again. It took a while to find the recipie that I can remember my mom making for us as kids back in Alberta Canada. It is delicious. Thanks for the tip on letting it boil for 21/2 mins. It turned out great(no crumbs) 5 stars

  Abb  Dec 2, 2008
Would make this again.
I'm going to make for my school home work on wednesday the 9th. I think it is great! 5 stars

  cookie maker from Michigan  Nov 29, 2008
Would make this again.
I have made these for about 45 years. Don't use too much coconut (I only use 1/2 cup coconut and 2 1/2 c. oats)as it will absorb the moisture in the cookies and dry them out and you'll have the crumbs described by one reviewer. If you want more coconut, decrease the amount of oats by the same amount of extra coconut you add. The boiling time is mainly to be sure the sugar is dissolved. If the cookies seem a bit sticky, don't worry about it. The longer they sit, the harder and dryer they become. I also use a small ice cream scoop to plop them out as it goes much faster. I also add 1/2 c. raisens and 1/2 c. chopped walnuts to this recipe. 5 stars

  SeaTea in Kitchener, ON  Nov 22, 2008
Would make this again.
I was also quite excited to find these cookies, as I have an identical 1960's recipe from my mother, which has been my kids' favourite for 30 years. We call them Robert's Brown Cookies (or it could be Robert Brown's cookies...we never figured that one out)

I wanted to mention 2 VERY important points, for anyone making this recipe for the first time.

1. The boiling time is CRUCIAL - boil too long and your cookies will not hold together, they will be a bowl full of crumbs (which still taste good, but are not so nice for serving to guests)If you don't boil the syrup long enough, your cookies will not harden properly and will be gummy and sticky.

The EXACT boiling time is 2 1/2 minutes FROM THE TIME THE SYRUP REACHES A ROLLING BOIL (a boil which cannot be stirred down)

There is probably an exact temperature on a candy thermometer for this stage, but I have never measured it.

2. Work QUICKLY to form your cookies, otherwise they will cool and not hold together (another bowl full of crumbs!).

This is also a good reason to not double the recipe, unless you have another pair of capable hands to help you get the cookies formed before the mixture cools and hardens.

I use 2 teaspoons to scoop and scrape and make them small (although my kids love them big). Small ones last longer and I get about 4 dozen from this recipe.

If you like chocolate peanut butter, you can substitute 1/4 c. peanut butter for the coconut, and add 1/4 c. more oatmeal. Also if you are out of coconut, or don't like it, you can use an extra cup of oatmeal to replace it.

Enjoy...this is a VINTAGE recipe! Very quick and easy. And delicious!
5 stars

  Jan in Guelph Ontario Canada  Sep 11, 2008
Would make this again.
Ah,a recipe I recall making for my family when my kids were young.I'd sure make them again! Now that that there are just 2 of us, I halved the recipe quite successfully-it lends itself to that. I also added in chopped walnuts, about 1/3 cup for half the recipe. Quite nice. I enjoy fast recipes, and this was one. I hope you enjoyed the cookies as much as me (chomp! 5 stars

  Denise in in New Brunswick Canada  Apr 13, 2008
Would make this again.
I looked ever where for this recipe I loved it as a kid and wanted my childern to try it. My little one thinks this are great! 5 stars

  Em  Feb 5, 2008
Would make this again.
These cookies are amazing!My mother made them for my siblings and I when we were younger and I have not ben able to have them since as I couldnt remember what they were called.I just recently found this recipe and they were as good as I remembered them being. My kids love them too.I would definatly recommend them as they are easy to make and yummy. My only complaint about them is that they are really addictive which is not a good thing when your on a diet as I am. 5 stars

  Shelly in Minnesota  Jan 9, 2008
Would make this again.
Yummy cookies!!!!
Its nice to have a no bake cookie with no peanut butter. This is a new family favorite.
5 stars

  Brenda in ky  Dec 24, 2007
Would make this again.
Iwould make this again 5 stars

  jackie in maine  Dec 18, 2007
Would not make this again.
Oh well, I am breaking the streak here because I wouldn't make these again. My children wouldn't eat them, which is crazy considering they'll anything. The complaint is that they are too sweet and too chocolate-y. I didn't know anything could be too sweet or too chocolately, but I couldn't finish one myself. They went in the garbage! :( 1 star

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS