Christmas-Cookies.com

62 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of Gooey Butter Cookies


36-45 of 138 reviews   << Previous - Next >>

  Stephanie in Clearwater FL  Apr 30, 2009
Would make this again.
I am a St. Louis native and miss having Gooey Butter Cake. These cookies are the next best thing, and SOOOO easy to make! One helpful hint: press the cookies face-down in powdered sugar after they have cooled. This gives them even more of an authentic St. Louis-style Gooey Butter Cake taste. Enjoy!!! 5 stars

  A cookie baker in St. Louis  Jan 22, 2009
Would not make this again.
I made these last night and "gooey butter" is no where near the description of this cookie. It's cakey and that's it. I live in the town that originated the gooey butter cake and this isn't even close. 2 stars

  A cookie baker  Jan 4, 2009
Would make this again.
great 5 stars

  Emily in Long Island, NY  Dec 26, 2008
Would make this again.
First year I really tried to make a bunch of Christmas cookies. Usually my mom makes them, and most I'd do is help. Now I live with my dad, so I can experiment more. Anyways, this was the 1st cookie I made this season, and we didn't have a whole lot of ingredients as far as chocolate chips or any of the icing stuff for the sugar cookies, so I was just gooogling around looking for a recipe I had everything for. I basically found this by accident, and I gotta say they are really good. I brought a bunch of cookies to work, and out of all the different ones I made (about 5-6 differnt kinds) these were the ones I was asked for the recipe for. I guess they are a little different.

I actually refrigerated the dough overnight anyway, cuz I didn't realize we didn't have the powdered sugar. After reading the other reviews, I realized that not only did it still obviosuly work, but it was easier to use, so I guess it worked out. Looking foward to trying lemon flavored cake, as I love lemon cookies. I will definitely try that one next time. ALso want to find a recipe for that gooey butter cake.

Hope everyone has a great christmas, and hi to Dave, if he reads this, lmaooooo.... he's the one I'm sending this link to :-)
5 stars

  A cookie baker in Indiana  Dec 23, 2008
Would make this again.
Love these cookies! Made them last Christmas and gave them as gifts. All of my friends wanted the recipe. 5 stars

  Mallory in Bakersfield  Dec 21, 2008
Would make this again.
I added Chocolate Chips, and it make them just sweet enough....VERY GOOD. Everyone loved them, and asked me to make them again 5 stars

  Abby in Ontario  Dec 21, 2008
Would make this again.
These cookies are phenomenal. Next time, I'll make them a bit smaller since mine spread a bit, but they were to die for and not bland at all. I used Christmas sprinkles to spice them up a bit. Got rave reviews. Yummy! 5 stars

  brenda in st.clair,mo  Dec 20, 2008
Would make this again.
These cookies are awesome.I like to use different flavors of cake mix.I sometimes frost them with a powder sugar glaze the same flavor of the cake mix. 5 stars

  Cynthia in Branford, CT  Dec 20, 2008
Would make this again.
Very good & easy to make. I used French Vanilla cake mix. I wanted them to look different from other cookies on my cookie tray so instead of rolling them in powdered sugar, I rolled some in red sugar & some in green. I also flattened them out a little before baking so they had more of a cookie shape as opposed to a ball. They came out very pretty! Thanks. 5 stars

  Chrystle in Collinsville ,IL  Dec 16, 2008
Would make this again.
If youve ever eaten one you would know these are the best cookies in the world! I make them every year and always get rave reviews! I divide the batter in to equal parts and then to one part add red food color and the other I add green then roll them into little balls and roll them in powdered sugar and bake it makes them a little more festive! 5 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS