Christmas-Cookies.com

32 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of Bourbon Balls

Bourbon Balls	Opens photo in lightbox. Hit Escape or X to exit lightbox.

16-25 of 79 reviews   << Previous - Next >>

  Tish in Pennsylvania  Nov 24, 2008
Would make this again.
These were sooo good! I got lots of compliments on them! I would make them again! 5 stars

  john mcdaniel in hamuilton,ohio  Dec 26, 2007
Would make this again.
simple and good!!!!!!!! 5 stars

  Frieda Haddad Abs in Beirut - Lebanon  Dec 19, 2007
Would make this again.
Dough was too dry. I added 1/2 cup butter,1 cup tangerine juice, substituted 1/4 cup rum to bourbon. The rsult was exquisite! 4 stars

  Ariel in Texas  Dec 18, 2007
Would make this again.
Excellent recipe. Just the right amount of bourbon. I crushed the vanilla wafers & the walnuts to almost powder (I also added almonds) & I think it helped it set so well. They turned out really solid. I rolled them in the cocoa powder with just a bit of powdered sugar, they don't stick to anything. Awesome texture, like little bourbon brownies. 5 stars

  Lori in Billings Montana  Dec 11, 2007
Would make this again.
This recipe is the same one as my Mom use to make every year at Christmas. Everyone in the family looked forward to them and she ended up making several batches. Now that she is gone I have picked up the tradition and my siblings love it ! 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Chicago, IL  Dec 10, 2007
Would make this again.
I loved them. I was curious about how they tasted from my previous trip to Louisville, the home of bourbon. 5 stars

  Trina Dunn in Kentucky  Dec 3, 2007
Would make this again.
This recipe is defintely a keeper, they're perfect. I made them for Thanksgiving and they were a hit. Rolling all those balls is time consuming and a little messy on the hands but worth it. I love 'em. 5 stars

  Carmen in New Jersey  Nov 12, 2007
Would not make this again.
This was my first time making these bourbon balls with these ingredients. I usually make them with semisweet morsals instead of the the cocoa powder. I really didnt care for this recipe. I found the balls to be too soft and mushy. I think I will stick to my old recipe.. 2 stars

  Danielle in Texas  Oct 21, 2007
Would make this again.
This is identical to the recipe I use for burbon balls every year. They are a favorite during the holidays.

I toss the whole wafers, powdered sugar and cocoa into the food processor to grind it all together. It makes quick work of it and blends it all very well. At the end of that I add the nuts so they are chopped in very fine with it as well.

The trick is to not make these too crumbly or too sticky. I make the balls a litle smaller than my mother in law so you can pop a whole one in your mouth easily.

You don't have to refridgerate them, there are no ingredients that will spoil.
5 stars

  Beth W in L.B. California  Dec 12, 2006
Would make this again.
This recipe is out of this world and brings me back to the good old days, the longer you let the balls set the better!!!! My father and I as a kid whould make the bourbon ball the day after Thanksgiving, store them and then hand them out as gifts to start the new year( given out on Ney Years Eve). Store balls in large cleaned out coffee cans lined with wax paper in between is best. No need to go over board on the bourbon but daddy always but a lil extra in for good measure ( if you know what I mean). Size is another point no need to go with large balls just a normal small ball( teaspoon size) will do just fine. Now, I will say that the powdered sugar will fade some and the balls do not need to be refrigerated! This recipe has an A+ in my book. 5 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS