Christmas-Cookies.com

31 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of Seven Layer Magic Bars

Seven Layer Magic Bars	Opens photo in lightbox. Hit Escape or X to exit lightbox.

16-25 of 192 reviews   << Previous - Next >>

  dodile  Dec 27, 2010
Would make this again.
My mom made this cookie bar every year for Christmas while I grew up. And I make this for my daughter every year, too. Now that she's living away in college, she emailed me asking me to make her some this year! I would double this recipe for 9x13 glass dish. This recipe with the measurements, I think, is good for 8x8 dish. 5 stars

  Lisa in Austin, TX  Dec 26, 2010
Would make this again.
I use Heath chips instead of coconut and it is so delicious! I'm going to try adding the condensed milk last next time.... 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Midwest  Dec 20, 2010
Would make this again.
Easy and delicious! 5 stars

  Bob in San Jose, CA  Dec 20, 2010
Would make this again.
I make these every year, and add a layer of dried cranberries. YUMMMM! 5 stars

  A cookie baker in California  Dec 19, 2010
Would make this again.
my mom and i used to make these all the time but we lost the recipe, i'm glad i found this :)

  Kait  Dec 19, 2010
Would make this again.
So excited to have found these. We added dried cranberries to the recipe at the same time as the chips... turned out awesome. Gotta disagree, though, with the condensed milk being the last thing added. We tried that, and the graham cracker crumbs ended up not sticking together at all when cutting up the bars and taking them out of the pan. After letting them cool for about an hour and a half, we took out the bars and about half of the crumbs stayed in the pan. Makes more sense to add the condensed milk as the second step in order make sure the crumbs stick together and form a sort of crust for the bars. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Michigan  Dec 19, 2010
Would make this again.
The taste of the bars was good, I took a fellow reviewers suggestion and poured the condensed milk on top of everything instead of on top of the graham cracker crust as instructed. I baked it for 30 minutes, let it cool for an hour and attempted to cut them and noticed LOTS of crust left on the foil along with the fact that the bottom was simply mushy. I might try to make them again but try a different recipe? 3 stars

  nannykins in spring, tx  Dec 17, 2010
Would make this again.
My mother made these every Christmas except she didn't use butterscotch chips. The sweetened condensed milk was poured on lastas well. This makes for a much moister cookie. She called them Hello Dolly Cookies and are still a family favorite today! 5 stars

  Courtney in North Carolina  Dec 10, 2010
Would make this again.
I really like this recipe. I made six dozen for a cookie swap my family has each year at Christmas. I did make some changes though. Instead of butterscotch I used white chocolate, 2 cups, less coconut, and only 1/2 cup of chocolate chips. The tweeks I did made it perfect! 4 stars

  A cookie baker  Dec 5, 2010
Would make this again.
yes, I agree with Cookie baker, the condensed milk has to be the last thing added. have made these for years and always a BIG HIT! 5 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS