Christmas-Cookies.com

66 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of Rosettes

Photo of Rosette cookies courtesy of Lori Lake.	Opens photo in lightbox. Hit Escape or X to exit lightbox.

36-45 of 78 reviews   << Previous - Next >>

  A cookie baker in california  Nov 15, 2009
Would make this again.
I've have found that an electric fondue pot is the perfect appliance to make rosettes. It is just the right size, maintains a constant temperture and as an extra, it is easy to clean. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Australia  Sep 3, 2009
Would make this again.
I have made these cookies for years. The thing is, if your iron is not hot enough as well, the batter will not stick. And if the iron is not hot enough, the batter will adhere to the iron. You must always dip the iron back into the hot oil first, before putting the iron back into the batter. Love these... they come out perfect alll the time. Just a bit time consuming though. 5 stars

  B'ette in Canada  Aug 1, 2009
Would make this again.
This recipe is very good, but the secret to making them is in the frying. Use only lard that has a "wax" in them. Not knowing exactly what this means, I was told to use "Tenderflake" and it works really well. 5 stars

  Bonnie  Jun 14, 2009
Would make this again.
Put a grid like that used in the bottom of a pressure canner in the bottom of the fryer--prevents burning. The light weight iron seems to work better at 275-300, the heavy iron at 325. A set with multiple handles is the best. Four can be fried at a time. Cooling the iron on a wet paper towel between dips makes it work better. After icing, the folks from Moravia, Tx a Czech/German community put them in the oven on a very low setting to get them crisp before putting in glass jars or cans. Not a good project for a rainy day, they don't stay crisp because of the humidity.
Freshen your oil by frying a potato.
5 stars

  marlene polidoro in Phila, Pa.  Apr 9, 2009
Would make this again.
I have made them many many times. Believe me. WE love them 5 stars

  marlene polidoro in Phila, Pa.  Apr 9, 2009
Would make this again.
My friends, neighbors and family are crazy over this recipe and delightful taste of these Rosettes. I make them year round. They store beautifully for quite a few months but I can't keep them around long enough to store.
Everone eats them with gusto.
5 stars

  A cookie baker in Cincinnati, OH  Dec 28, 2008
Would make this again.
We have made these in our family for as long as I can remember although the frying part is done a bit different. After dipping the heated iron into the batter, the iron is placed in the oil for about 3-5 seconds. Lifting the iron then releases the rosette to finish cooking in the oil. Flip the rosettes to cook top side. This allows you to make them quicker heating the iron briefly between rosettes. I usually have 4-5 rosettes cooking at once. Taking the finished one out as I place a new one in and at the same time flipping those that are needed. 5 stars

  A cookie baker  Dec 27, 2008
Would make this again.
if you are not getting the batter ont he iron..its because you need to wipe off some of the oil or your iron may not pick up the batter if its to cool. 5 stars

  clara in Seattle  Dec 18, 2008
Would make this again.
In answer to the problem of the batter not sticking to the iron, per my old Nordic Ware recipe, if the iron or the oil isn't the correct temperature, the batter won't adhere. 5 stars

  Michele in New Jersey  Dec 16, 2008
Would make this again.
Great Recipe!!! If iron won't pick up batter after a few cookies I have found that if you blot the iron on a paper towel before you dip in batter that helps!!I mae these cookies all year round. Everyone LOVES them!!! 5 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS