Christmas-Cookies.com

33 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of Rosettes

Photo of Rosette cookies courtesy of Lori Lake.	Opens photo in lightbox. Hit Escape or X to exit lightbox.

26-35 of 78 reviews   << Previous - Next >>

  Robin  Jun 16, 2010
Would make this again.
Love these cookies! Irons handed down from mom. Alternative is instead of vanella extract, use Almond extract! YUMMY! :-D 5 stars

  A cookie baker  May 10, 2010
Would make this again.
what is the matter if the rossete tastes alittle oily? 5 stars

  Nino in New Jersey  Dec 22, 2009
Would make this again.
Work great, first btime, I had my iron for three years, I have to get some holiday iron parts those, thanks 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Montana  Dec 22, 2009
Would make this again.
Most rosette recipes tell the cook to blot the iron on a paper towel or on flannel before dipping in the batter. Forgot to blot it once last time we made some it left a perfect imprint also. Dipped the iron back in the grease, blotted it, & next one perfect. Another hint - to avoid bubbling of the batter as it cooks only lightly beat the eggs. 5 stars

  Cathy "D" in St Louis  Dec 19, 2009
Would make this again.
Great cookie especially if you fill after frying. I drizzle with honey and ground nuts and then spinkle with powered sugar. Wonderful--- my grandmother use to make,disappeared in seconds. A family favorite.I Make them often many times for open house gifts. 5 stars

  Karen in Charlotte, NC  Dec 14, 2009
Would make this again.
If you use a deep fryer. Temperature remains constant & Rosettes come out perfect every time. 5 stars

  Mary in Boyd, WI  Dec 9, 2009
Would make this again.
This recipe is the same one my Grandma Lizzie from Norway used, except she used lard instead of oil. I use a mixture of both.

Grandma taught me to keep an old towel next to the deep fat fryer and "bang" the rosette iron on the towel a few times to knock off the excess oil before dipping the iron in the batter. (This method ensures that the batter sticks to the iron.)

If you dip the iron too far into the batter and it goes over the top of the iron, scrape off the overage with a fork or it will be difficult to remove the cooked rosette from the iron.

A large meat fork works well to flip the rosette over in the hot oil and then remove the rosette from the oil.
5 stars

  A cookie baker  Nov 30, 2009
Would make this again.
The recipe is good and it works but you shouldn't have to remove it with a fork it should drip right off in the oil so that you can flip them otherwise no other problems 5 stars

  Todd Appel in Minnesota  Nov 28, 2009
Would make this again.
For a better cookie - try using eggnog instead of milk. It worked great and the cookies have an added taste! 5 stars

  A cookie baker  Nov 28, 2009
Would make this again.
how to get the batter to stop sticking on iron 5 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS