Christmas-Cookies.com

33 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of Potato Candy

Potato Candy	Opens photo in lightbox. Hit Escape or X to exit lightbox.

46-55 of 120 reviews   << Previous - Next >>

  Suzanne in Pearland, TX  Oct 14, 2008
Would make this again.
My grandmother passed a similar recipe down through the generations. My son is now making these as well. However, our recipe is slightly different:

I boil 1 small white potato; mash it, add a little salt, butter/margarine.

I use one 1 lb. box of confectioners sugar

I use 2 cups of peanut butter, usually Jif because it's creamier

After rolling the balls, refrigerate until very cold (usually overnight).

Melt semi-sweet chocolate chips in a double boiler - a little at a time. Using a vegetable peeler, peel a few strips of parafin wax - probably about 2 Tablespoons and melt with the chocolate. Be careful not to let the chocolate get too hot or cold.

Carefully roll each ball around in the melted chocolate and remove onto wax paper and let cool/refrigerate.

I make balls at Christmas and shape into eggs at Easter.
5 stars

  Kaye in CALIFORNIA  Sep 28, 2008
Would make this again.
I was raised on potato candy. I have made it for my children and now make them for my grandchildren. Great recipe 5 stars

  Pam Cook in Texas  Apr 19, 2008
Would make this again.
I love potato candy.
I melted dark chocolate and smeared it on top of the peanut butter then rolled. It was a big hit.
5 stars

  Tommy in Pennsylvania  Feb 21, 2008
Would make this again.
this stuff is off the hook
love to make it
5 stars

  Fran in Pentintocia  Dec 30, 2007
Would make this again.
Love,Love,Love these cookies OH MY GOODNESS!! I crave these poatoes in my dreams!!! WOOp-DEE-dooo 5 stars

  Loretta in Fort Worth  Dec 19, 2007
Would make this again.
I have eaten and made potatoe candy since I was a little kid. It has been several years and I had to look up the ratio of potatoes to sugar but I absolutely do love it and I am a new grandma and this is one tradition I plan to pass on. 5 stars

  matty in ca  Dec 16, 2007
Would not make this again.
hated them too............. just didnt appeal to me or my family 1 star

  B Nichols in Florida  Dec 16, 2007
Would make this again.
My wifes # 1 cookie/candie I love the look on peoples faces when thay it for the first time 5 stars

  not a baker , just a taster in Iowa  Dec 15, 2007
Would make this again.
haven't baked since my kids were growing up. Now the grandkids are here and they just loved the potatoe candy. So easy to make and everyone young and old enjoy eating these. 5 stars

  Monica Reinhardt in Maryland but moved to Florida  Dec 14, 2007
Would make this again.
I remember my mom making this as a staple for the Christmas Cookie assortment. She was raised by her grandma in West Va, during the depression. I love these sweets.

Monica
5 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS