Christmas-Cookies.com

67 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of Potato Candy

Potato Candy	Opens photo in lightbox. Hit Escape or X to exit lightbox.

6-15 of 120 reviews   << Previous - Next >>

  Denise in Minnesota  Dec 21, 2014
Would make this again.
I cannot believe I just saw this recipe. My Grandmother made it every Christmas and gave it to my family in a special round tin every year. I waited every Christmas for that tin to come.
No one here in Minnesota, that I know of, never heard of it and they don\'t think it would taste very good. How wrong they were. I make it every year, even if I have to eat it all myself. Thank you for publishing this awesome family recipe.
5 stars

  Doddie Thompson in Lafayette G.A  Dec 14, 2014
Would make this again.
i love this candy my aunt Barbara made me this for Christmas and now she has past away and i found this now i can make it like she did for everyone 5 stars

  A2skater in Ann Arbor, Michigan  Dec 12, 2014
Would make this again.
I used Nutella instead of peanut butter. Yumm! Add a little bit of orange zest or extract to the sugar and potato dough for another yummy flavor (along w the Nutella). 5 stars

  ce ce in maryland  Dec 1, 2014
Would make this again.
Mom made it every year and now it's my turn. Best candy ever!!! I have added extras for the holidays..mints and nuts 5 stars

  Jordan grace Bach in Virginia Beach, VA  Dec 12, 2013
Would make this again.
Easy and delicious, I added raisins and substituted almond butter in place of the peanut butter. Makes the kids and husband happy! 5 stars

  Barbara in New Jersey  Dec 9, 2013
Would make this again.
I was taught to make this candy as a child nearly 50 years ago. My grandmother told me the story as she was teaching me that this was a very popular depression era candy. As a child this was the only candy she was able to get as it was very inexpensive to make and it kept a lot of the depression children happy :) 5 stars

  Nancy in Virginia  Jun 4, 2013
Would make this again.
I made this for over 55 years. Learned to make it when i was 7 years old. 5 stars

  A cookie baker  Dec 2, 2012
Would make this again.
I just had to try this finally. My kids LOVED it! When I put the first 2 cups of powdered sugar in with the potatoes I was very dubious. First I thought it would be way too dry as there is no liquid. NOPE! Within a few seconds the whole thing became very, very wet. I was dubious again that only 1 more cup of powdered sugar was going to bring it to "dough" consistency. But it did, just fine. All in all, it was a very easy recipe to put together. 4 stars

   Nov 21, 2012
Would not make this again.
Had to add at least another cup of sugar because it was too wet. Then it became extremely too sweet. 3 stars

  Leighton Family in Santa Rosa, CA  Dec 24, 2011
Would make this again.
Yes this Christmas I am making many of Grandma's confections. The one I thought of was the little round potato balls w/different colors of food coloring, mostly red, green. Thanks for the recipe, but I don't remember peanut butter w/ the ball style. Thanks, I'll try both ways. Remember Carrot Jell-O?? & Ambrosia froze in Milk cartons?? Don't forget Karo Popcorn balls :) Merry Christmas 5 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS