Christmas-Cookies.com

11 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of Zimtsterne

Zimtsterne	Opens photo in lightbox. Hit Escape or X to exit lightbox.

6-15 of 15 reviews   << Previous

  Hanna in Germany  Jan 18, 2011
Would make this again.
The traditional recipe calls for ground hazelnuts not almonds and the traditional icing is made with beaten egg white and icing sugar (no lemon, which would overpower the nut flavor of the dough). That said, I think almond cookies for Christmas are lovely as well.

  Sammy in South Carolina  Dec 5, 2010
Would make this again.
These were WONDERFUL. You need lots of extra almonds on hand, as achieving the proper consistency for the dough is a little tricky. Also, I just put the reserved meringue in a bag and piped it onto the cookies afterwards. They turned out very cute! 5 stars

  A cookie baker in England  Dec 23, 2008
Would make this again.
Probably not enough sugar and additives in them for the Americans! 5 stars

  A cookie baker  Dec 21, 2008
Would make this again.
What a magnificent cookie! The flavor balance between the cinnamon, lemon, and almonds is perfect. I was afraid this would be another of those horrid dry, lifeless baked meringue things, but I couldn't have been more wrong. The cookie is not exactly moist, but tender -a great counterbalance to the crisp icing. They store very well.

I've made four batches since discovering this recipe last week. I've delivered them to dozens of people and received nothing but raves. Several people have asked for the recipe.

This is also a great cookie for heart patients, since the only fat comes from almonds and cardiologists like for their patients to eat nuts.
5 stars

  A cookie baker  Dec 3, 2008
Would not make this again.
They are the worst things ever they tasted like crap.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

  eve in florida- german background  Nov 22, 2006
Would make this again.
you will like these if you have a real sweet tooth. Great with coffee.
A christmas favorite. This is also an aquired taste.

Best to work with dough chilled. Keep chilled as you use it to make is easier to work with. Otherwise if it is really warm it is very sticky.
You can also put the stars on the
oblatten bottoms. (Like church wafers)
and they are easier to handle also.
You can eat the wafers, they bake on to them.

Worth the effort if appreciated. :)
5 stars

  Larissa in Texas  Dec 19, 2004
Would make this again.
yum! we love them! 5 stars

  A cookie baker in England  Dec 21, 2002
Would make this again.
Christmas would not be Christmas without cinnemon stars. I have made them every year for twenty years. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in Denver  Dec 17, 2002
Would not make this again.
I tried it out the other night and I did not like it. Niether did my kids. 1 star

  Victoria Rosenblitt in Chile  Dec 5, 2002
Would make this again.
They are excellent. They came out beautiful and as you say they can be kept wonderfully well. Thanks for the recipe 5 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS